Weather Forecast


Honors and officers

Concordia faculty, staff receive awards

Faculty and staff members of Concordia College were presented awards at the recent Concordia College State of the College event.

Winners and their awards were: Joy Lintelman, chairwoman and professor of history, Ole and Lucy Flaat Distinguished Teaching Award; Aileen Buslig, professor of communication studies and theatre art, Ole and Lucy Flaat Distinguished Scholarship Award; Jill Walker, headteacher of toddlers for Cobber Kids, Ole and Lucy Flaat Distinguished Service Award; and Craig R. Soliah, audio visual technician for digital media services, Ole and Lucy Flaat Distinguished Service Award.

Renslow receives Lions Club honor

Brad Renslow, general manager of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson in Fargo, was recently honored as a Lions Club International Melvin Jones Fellow.

Fellowship contributions help to bring medication to prevent river blindness and to teach children to avoid drugs through Lions Quest. Each contribution can restore sight to 167 individuals or provide Lions Quest to 67 youths. The fellowship is named for Lions Club International founder Melvin Jones.

NHS named as Hilton-approved management

Fargo-based hospitality management company National Hospitality Services was recently named a Hilton-approved management company. NHS provides human resources, sales and marketing, revenue management services and OnTacTM accounting system for 25 hotels nationwide. Hilton is the sixth major hospitality brand to partner with NHS.

Hartman named to New York Life's President's Council

Steven R. Hartman has been named a member of the 2017 President's Council of New York Life. Council members are among top 5 percent of New York Life's sales force of more than 12,000 licensed agents. Hartman is based out of Fargo and has been a New York Life agent since 1980. He has qualified for council for 37 consecutive years and earned his CLU and ChFC designations from the American College of Financial Services.

Ascensus named one of fastest-growing companies

Ascensus, a technology-enabled solutions provider, has been named to the 2017 Inc. 5000 list of fastest-growing private companies in America. The company was founded over 35 years ago and has expanded into several markets within the financial services industry. Ascensus Trust Company, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Ascensus, is located in Fargo and provides trust/custodial services for qualified plans and full-service support for SEP/SIMPLE IRAs.

Nellermoe recognized as extraordinary nurse

Essentia Health registered nurse Jessica Nellermoe was recently presented with a DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses for the month of June. She was nominated by a patient for her kind heart and gentle spirit. The award is part of the DAISY Foundation's program to recognize superhuman efforts nurses perform daily.

Zaleski given CGMC Award

The Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities presented The Forum's former editorial page editor, Jack Zaleski, with its Friend of the CGMC Award at the organization's 2017 summer conference and legislative awards dinner in Fergus Falls, Minn., last month. Also honored at CGMC's summer meeting were Moorhead Mayor Del Rae Williams for excellence in service for an elected official and Sen. Ken Eken, D - Twin Valley, for distinction in environmental legislation.

Spitfire wins reserve championship

The competition team from Spitfire Bar and Grill in West Fargo was named the reserve grand champion of the 10th Annual Big Island BBQ in Albert Lea, Minn. The team, led by chief cook Tim Olson, competed against 55 other teams in the Kansas City Barbecue Society sanctioned event. Besides placing second in overall points, the team finished first in pork, seventh in sauce and ninth in brisket.

Chamber announces new board members

The Fargo-Moorhead-West Fargo Chamber recently announced its 2017-18 board of directors. New members are Shawn Dobberstein, Hector International Airport; Steve Halverson, Heartland Trust Company; and Sandi Piatz, Microsoft. Officers are: Steve Swiontek, Gate City Bank, chairman; Mark Nisbet, Xcel Energy, chairman elect; Tom Dawson, Dawson Insurance, treasurer; and Judd Graham, Bremer Bank, immediate past chairman. Other returning board members include: Beverley Adams, Sanford Health; Ann Christenson, TMI Hospitality; Kyle Dorow, Essentia Health; Mike Dragosavich, Spotlight Media; Jodi Duncan, Flint Group; Jenni Huotari, Eide Bailly; Peggy Kennedy, Minnesota State Community and Technical College; Joanna Slominski, Mortenson Construction; and Jeffry Volk, Moore Engineering.

Art council announces new board members

Gov. Doug Burgum has appointed Onesti Krieger of Williston and Searle Swedlund of Valley City to the North Dakota Council on the Arts' board of directors. He also re-appointed David "White Thunder" Trottier as the board chairman. The board consists of nine members, one from each of the state's regions and one member-at-large, who are appointed by the governor to serve a five-year term.

Maring Williams' attorneys named

Four attorneys at Maring Williams Law Offices in Fargo and Bismarck were named to the 24th edition of The Best Lawyers in America list. David S. Maring was included in the practice areas of bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation, personal injury litigation - plaintiffs and product liability - plaintiffs. Michael J. Williams was included in the practice area of personal injury litigation - plaintiffs. Daniel J. Dunn was included in the practice areas of commercial litigation, construction law, and personal injury litigation - plaintiffs. Duane A. Lillehaug was included in the practice areas of personal injury litigation - plaintiffs, and product liability litigation - plaintiffs. Selection to Best Lawyers is based on a peer-review survey.

Robert Gibb & Sons' Freije earns honor

Michele Freije, customer service supervisor at Robert Gibb & Sons in Fargo, is the June 2017 winner of the Bryant Cooling & Heating Systems Awarding Women of Excellence program. Freije has been in her current position for over five years and has over 20 years experience in the HVAC/plumbing service industry.

Park Co. Realtors agents receive awards

The following Park Co. Realtors recently received awards and nominations. Kevin Fisher was named the 2017 FM Realtor of the Year and a North Dakota Association of Realtors Realtor of the Year candidate. Chris Feickert was nominated for 2017 FM Realtor of the Year. Vicky Matson was named 2018 Fargo-Moorhead Area Association of Realtors president elect. Shane Cullen was named to the 2018 FMAAR board of directors. Ryan Mullikin was named the 2018 NDAR director.

Justin Berg and Jenny Schuster were named the top listing Realtors during the month of July for the company. The award is given to agents who have the highest cumulative listing volume for the month. Karen Skjold and Jennifer Sturlaugson were named the top sales realtors. The award is given to agents who have the highest cumulative sales volume for the month. Tasha Barrett was named the Park Co. Realtors Kiosk Realtor for July. Barrett received the honor for having the highest transaction volume at the West Acres Kiosk.