Weather Forecast


Stenehjem files $38 million claim over DAPL protest costs

Honors and officers

Helgeland earns Distinguished Service Award

John Helgeland of Fargo recently received a Distinguished Service Award at Luther College's Homecoming alumni Dinner in Decorah, Iowa.

Helgeland graduated from the college with a bachelor's degree in Greek in 1962. He joined the staff at North Dakota State University in 1977, where he served as the chairman of religious studies until 2015. Helgeland is currently a professor emeritus in religion and history at NDSU.

Larson, Taylor join Lutheran Social Services board

Anna Larson and Ryan Taylor have joined the board of Lutheran Social Services of North Dakota.

Larson previously worked as a journalist for 10 years and now works as a creative content writer for Eide Bailly, LLP in Fargo. Taylor is a former North Dakota state senator. He is also the head of Sandhill Communications and produces the column "Cowboy Logic."

Johnson recognized, elected to national board

Home Builders Association of Fargo-Moorhead Chief Executive Officer Bryce Johnson recently received the National Association of Home Builders Executive Officers Council's career achievement award at the Association Management Conference in Denver.

Johnson was also elected secretary of the Executive Officer's Council board. Johnson has worked for the HBA for 25 years and was named the CEO in 2015.

She previously worked as the HBA's membership coordinator and executive vice president. In addition to working as CEO, Johnson works with the Home Builders Care of F-M Foundation, which supports workforce development and helps with local housing projects.

Johnson has been a member of the EOC board since 2013 and has been involved with the EOC throughout her entire career.

Spitfire wins reserve championship

Spitfire Bar and Grill of West Fargo's competition barbecue team was recently named the reserve grand champion of barbecue in the Kansas City Barbecue Society event in Glendive, Mont.

Head cook Tim Olson and the Spitfire team competed against 25 other teams in four meat categories. They received a perfect score and a first-place finish in the beef brisket category.

Dwyer awarded Medallion of Service

The North Dakota Association of Realtors has inducted Lyn Dwyer, of RE/MAX Realty 1 in Fargo, into the Omega Tau Rho Fraternity in recognition of her leadership skills.

As a token of the high esteem the Realtor Organization holds for her, she was awarded a Medallion of Service during its annual convention in Aberdeen, S.D.

Her nomination was based on the many leadership roles in volunteer positions she's held.

Two join Economic Development Foundation board

Linda Butts and Erik Diederich have joined the North Dakota Economic Development Foundation board.

Butts was previously the director of economic development and finance at the North Dakota Department of Commerce. She was appointed by former President George W. Bush to serve on the Strengthening America's Communities Initiative and served as the head of North Dakota's Driver and Vehicle Services of the North Dakota Department of Transportation.

Diederich is the director of business development for Industrial Builders, a West Fargo general contracting company that focuses on heavy civil construction. He previously worked for Kilbourne Group and earned his bachelor's degree in construction management from North Dakota State University.

Park Co. Realtors earn FHCA designation

The following Park Co. Realtors have been awarded the FirstHome Certified Agents designation: Llonna Helenske, Kim Keller, Shirley Moen, Robbie Quick, Diane Nordhougen, Shane Cullen, Jan Christensen, Kiah Schmalenberg, Chris Feickert, Schuyler Froehlich and Brenda Richert.

FHCAs have specific knowledge of North Dakota Housing Finance Agency's FirstHome and related homeownership programs. These agents have attended a course conducted by NDHFA that describes program eligibility including income and acquisition cost limits, the loan origination process and other information relevant to the agency's programs.