Weather Forecast


Honors and officers (July 5)

Edward Jones makes Computerworld list

Edward Jones has been named to Computerworld 2014 Best Places to Work in Information Technology ranking, recognizing 100 top organizations that challenge their information technology staffs while providing great benefits and compensation.

The company ranked as the No. 43 large company. The ranking appears in the June 23 issue of Computerworld and online at

The financial services firm has appeared on the listing for 13 consecutive years.

Agents recognized for client relationships

Troy Ivesdal and Cindy Magnuson of the financial services firm Edward Jones in Fargo have won awards for exceptional achievements in building client relationships.

Ivesdal earned the firm’s Jim McKenzie Award and Magnuson received the Ted Jones Entrepreneurial Award.

BCBSND leads in customer service

Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota ranked No. 1 among the nation’s Blue Cross and Blue Shield insurance plans during the second half of 2013 in customer service.

BCBSND had a 99.93 score out of 100 possible points in industry Member Touchpoint Measures rankings.

Blue Cross and Blue Shield plans use MTM scores to track the accuracy and timeliness that enrollment, claims processing and member inquiries are resolved, as well as the rate of first call resolution of member inquiries.

Choice Financial earns top-performing ranking

Choice Financial, a North Dakota-based bank, earned the top place in SNL Financial’s ranking of the top-performing community banks of 2013 with assets between $500 million and $5 billion.

The bank has 15 locations across North Dakota and Minnesota.

Indian-Triumph Fargo top dealer in Midwest

Indian-Triumph Motorcycles, 2745 Main Ave., Fargo, was named the No. 1 dealer in the Midwest’s eight-state region with the highest retail sales ever in May.

This year, Indian-Triumph Motorcycles has surpassed its total sales in 2013. The newly launched Thunderbird LT and Commander, along with the Tiger family, continue to drive growth at 23 percent year-to-date.

Cosmopolitan Club elects board members

The Fargo-Moorhead Cosmopolitan Club has elected its board of directors for 2014-15. Those elected include:

Nicole Ellis, Swanson Health Products, president; Jane Wiedewitsch, Minot (N.D.) State University, vice president; Tracey Braeger, Sanford Health, secretary/treasurer; Bob Carlson, retired, Blue Cross Blue Shield North Dakota; Pat Olson, Rape and Abuse Crisis Center; Caitlin Stoecker, The Village Family Service Center; Jay Titus, Jay of All Trades; Lisa Fritzell Hemm, Underbrush Gallery; JoEllen Carlson, Hope Lutheran Church; and Doug Huber, Harwood (N.D.) State Bank.

The organization focuses on the fight against diabetes and contributes to community well-being through charitable donations and volunteer service. From July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2014, FMCC members raised $57,000 for local charities and nonprofits.

Rotary club raises funds for local projects

Fargo West Rotary has raised more than $57,000 during the term of current president Ryan McManus.

The annual Harley-Davidson raffle raised more than $33,000, which benefitted the otter exhibit at the Red River Zoo in Fargo. The annual peach sale raised more than $12,000, and more than $9,000 was raised by club members to benefit the Rotary annual fund and the Polio Plus campaign. In addition, more than $3,000 was raised in weekly Happy Dollars contributions, which are donated to local organizations.

During the recent Rotary International 5580 District Conference, Fargo West Rotary earned the Presidential Citation award and earned second place for fundraising. Arden Glanzer received an award for vocation service, and Betty Opheim was honored for club service.

Four named to board of Medora Foundation

The Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation has elected four new members to serve on its all-volunteer board of directors. The new members are Rich Becker, Grand Forks, and Twylah Blotsky, Bruce Furness and Dr. Tracy Martin, all of Fargo.

BCBSND, Flint win Silver Anvil Award

Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota and Flint Communications, Fargo, were recognized with a Silver Anvil Award from the Public Relations Society of America for BCBSND’s efforts to improve communication, provide better customer service and help explain the complexities of health care and health insurance.

The award, which recognizes outstanding achievement in strategic public relations planning and implementation, was presented to both companies during the PRSA’s Silver Anvil Awards ceremony June 12 in New York City.

Sheehy elected to museum director group

Colleen Sheehy, director and chief executive officer of the Plains Art Museum, Fargo, has been elected to membership in the American Association of Museum Directors.

The AAMD includes directors from 242 leading art institutions in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Membership acceptance is based on qualifications of the individual director and the specific art museum.

AAMD offers professional development seminars, programs on art museum management and peer networking opportunities.

ByteSpeed wins bid for school computers

ByteSpeed, Moorhead, has been awarded the Regional Education Media Center Association of Michigan five-year contract for computers.

The project is a cooperative purchasing program developed to secure aggregated volume bid prices for Michigan schools and other eligible agencies.

The program saves schools time and money by providing a bid that meets state standards and allows schools to purchase interactive learning solutions without additional bidding requirements.

ByteSpeed manufactures Intel-based desktops, laptops and servers.

F-M AM Rotary Club elects board members

The Fargo Moorhead AM Rotary Club has elected new board members. Those elected include: Jennifer Miller, president; Randy Heller, president elect/treasurer; Tom Thompson, vice president; and Kristi Huber, past president/secretary.

Committee members are Larry Ornberg, Chris Feickert, Steve Goldade, Herb Schmidt, Keith Brokke, Samantha Kiecker, Sylvia Lunski, Kelvin Daniels, Margaret Schneider, Bob Jerger and Merrill Piepkorn.

The club meets at 7 a.m. Thursday mornings at the Ramada Plaza and Suites, Fargo. All meetings are open to anyone interested in learning more about serving the community and participating in international service projects.

Simonson to lead Jeans and Jerseys event

Carrie Simonson has been named chairwoman of the annual ShareHouse Jeans and Jerseys event. The annual fundraiser for the nonprofit chemical addiction treatment center will be at 5 p.m. Aug. 27 at the Ramada Plaza and Suites, Fargo.

Simonson is the clinic coordinator of the child/adolescent maltreatment service program at Sanford Health. Other committee members include Lisa Satermo, Doug Hamilton, Kathryn Helgaas and Dr. Robert C. Montgomery.

Tickets are $75 and reservations can be made at or call (701) 373-8670 after July 15.