Weather Forecast


Honors and officers (Aug. 23)

Serkland attorneys named to Best Lawyers

Four Serkland Law Firm attorneys in Fargo have been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2015 in their respective practice areas.

The attorneys are Jack G. Marcil, arbitration, mediation, personal injury litigation and product liability litigation; Ronald H. McLean, Bet-the-Company litigation, commercial litigation, litigation – construction, litigation – labor and employment, litigation – mergers and acquisitions, and litigation – municipal; Roger J. Minch, arbitration, bankruptcy and creditor-debtor rights/insolvency and reorganization law, commercial litigation, litigation – banking and finance, and litigation – bankruptcy; and Maureen Holman, family law.

McCarthy achieves Circle of Success honor

Angie McCarthy, a private wealth adviser with Ameriprise Financial, Fargo, qualified for the company’s Circle of Success and attended the 2014 National Conference held recently in Boston.

She earned this achievement for achieving high levels in production and for client service and satisfaction.

Bierdeman qualifies for Ameriprise conference

Mark Bierdeman, a financial adviser with Ameriprise Financial, Fargo, qualified for and attended the 2014 National Conference held recently in Boston.

At the conference, advisers shared best practices and focused on how to serve clients’ needs with the most current and effective strategies, products and solutions.

Bierdeman was able to attend the conference by achieving high levels of production, client service and client satisfaction.

Gores honored with achievement award

Patrick K. Gores, a managing partner with Northwestern Mutual in Fargo has earned the company’s Managing Partner Achievement Award, which recognizes overall excellence in agency development including productivity, recruitment and retention of financial representatives, and persistency in serving and retaining clients.

A native of Cando, N.D., Gores earned a bachelor’s degree in business from Minot (N.D.) State University. He has been with Northwestern Mutual for 33 years and became a managing partner in 1996.

American Legion Post 21 elects new officers

The Moorhead American Legion Post 21 has elected officers for 2014-15. Those elected include:

DeLyle C. Ishaug, commander and 48-year member; Les Forman, first vice commander, 39 years; Wayne Schumacher, second vice commander, 48 years; Marvin Nicklay, third vice commander, eight years; Mike Obach, fourth vice commander, four years; and Curtis Aamodt, sergeant-at-arms, 39 years.

Trooper receives award at national competition

North Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper Josh Anderson placed third in the North American Standards Level 1 Inspection at the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance’s North American Inspectors Championship held recently in Pittsburgh.

Anderson is stationed in Minot and works in the NDHP’s Motor Carrier Division. He competed against 49 roadside inspectors representing jurisdictions across North Dakota.

Fargo Happy Joe’s owners earn honors

Mike and Cheryl Post, owners of the Happy Joe’s franchise in Fargo, have been named Franchisees of the Year.

They received the award from Happy Joe Whitty, founder and CEO of Happy Joe’s, at the annual franchisee conference.

F-M Ambulance Service employees earn awards

Several employees from F-M Ambulance Service have received Achievement in Excellence awards. The awards recognize employees who provide compassionate, competent and quality pre-hospital care and transportation while maintaining a commitment to excellence and continuous improvement to the community and each other.

Those receiving the award include Bob Barber, Amanda Danielson, Wade Hockert, Nikky Johnson and Jon Rude.

Nathaniel Dutt was given the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution Chapter EMS Award, which is given to a member of the F-M Ambulance Service Ceremonial Unit for obtaining high performance standards in 2013.

Zimmerman, Guy named in Best Lawyers list

Todd E. Zimmerman, an attorney with Fredrikson & Byron in Fargo, was named a “Lawyer of the Year” by Best Lawyers. One attorney in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year” and Zimmerman was recognized in the product liability litigation – defendants category in Fargo.

In addition, William L. Guy II, also with Fredrikson & Byron in Fargo, was named in the Best Lawyers in America 2015 in the areas of trusts and estates. Zimmerman was also named a Best Lawyer in the areas of commercial litigation, litigation – banking and finance, litigation – real estate, litigation – securities, and product liability litigation – defendants.