Weather Forecast



SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: The Fargo VFW Post 762 and Ladies Auxiliary have announced winners of three competitions held for students.

Voice of Democracy Essay Scholarship winners were: Payson Wallach, Davies High School, first; Jacob Stibbe, Fargo North High School, second; Addisen Long, Fargo North High School, third.

Patriot’s Pen Essay Scholarship winners were: Hannah Khan, Discovery Middle School, first; Emily Jackson, Carl Ben Eielson Middle School, second; and Miriam Duncan, Carl Ben Eielson Middle School, third.

Young American Creative Patriotic Art Awards winners were: Melanie Walton, Fargo North High School, first. Walton was also winner of the state level so her entry has been submitted to the national competition where she has a chance to win a $10,000 scholarship.

The Moorhead Vikingland Kiwanis Club has awarded a Vinkingland Kiwanis Ruth Utke Memorial Scholarship to Alex Swanson, son of David and Cindy Swanson.

The University of North Dakota has granted North Dakota Honors Program partial tuition waivers to Claire Erickson, daughter of Lowell and Sue Erickson of Fargo, and Cole Bachmeier, son of Jeff and Eileen Bachmeier of West Fargo.

TWIRLING NEWS: Paige Warren, 16, Fargo, placed in the Miss Majorette of Minnesota competition recently held in Minneapolis. She won first in two baton twirling, solo baton and strutting; second in modeling, solo twirling and the Miss Springtime Pageant; and third in basic marching. Warren is coached by Merrie Sue Holtan and Shaina Magel at the YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties.

MILITARY NEWS: Air Force 1st Lt. Ryan Buatala has been named United States Air Force Test Pilot School’s Company Grade officer of the year for 2013. Selection was based on an individual’s exemplary duty performance, job knowledge, leadership qualities, teamwork, notable accomplishments and community service and support. Buatala is currently stationed at Edwards Air Force Base in California. He is a 2006 graduate of Fargo North High School and the son of Sherry and Kenneth Buatala of Fargo.

ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS: The North Dakota State P.E.O. Sisterhood elected and installed its state officers during its 100th state convention recently held in Jamestown. Serving on the executive board are: Germaine Ueckert, Beach, president; Marianna Malm, Fargo, vice president; Marcia Foss, Valley City, organizer; Susan Johnson, Fargo, treasurer; and Cindy Schuetzler, Dickinson, secretary.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. Contact Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.