Weather Forecast


ND secretary of state candidate drops out, raising questions about GOP's next steps

Primaries set fall matchups for judge, county board in Clay

MOORHEAD – The late-reporting precincts Tuesday didn’t change which candidates advanced to the general election in contested primaries for a county board seat and a judgeship.

In the primary for Clay County District 3 commissioner, Jenny Mongeau and incumbent Jon D. Evert will face off in the Nov. 4 election.

Mongeau garnered 39 percent, or 339 votes, and Evert took 26 percent, or 228 votes, in complete but unofficial results.

Dan Langseth took 19 percent, or 163 votes, and Joe Pederson drew 16 percent, or 140 votes.

Steven Cahill was the top vote-getter in the 7th District judge race, with 38 percent, or 6,385 votes. The race was open to voters across the 10-county district, which stretches from St. Cloud’s Stearns County northwest – including Clay, Otter Tail and Becker counties.

Cahill, the sitting judge in the Moorhead-based seat, will face Kenneth Kohler, who received 27 percent of the vote, or 4,518 votes.

Cheryl Duysen drew 23 percent with 3,860 votes, and Terry Graff finished with 12 percent, 2,066 votes.