WDAY.com |

North Dakota's #1 news website 10,650,498 page views — March 2014

Published February 20, 2011, 12:00 AM

Namedroppers (February 20, 2011)

An occasional column for real news about real people

By: Forum staff reports, INFORUM

CHESS RESULTS: The following students were winners in a recent scholastic chess tournament held at Centennial Elementary in Fargo:

Kindergarten through third grade: Steven Eddy, first place; Allen Wu and Mickey Kenney, second; Rishab Advani, third.

Fourth through sixth grade: Padmanabha Kavasseri, first; Andrew Niehus, second; Sawyer Kenney, third.

Sixth through ninth grade: Akriti Saxena, first; Michael Nedeau and Zachary Jensen, second; Myron Boivin, third.

Ninth through 12th grade: Carl Steele, first; Keyan Farahmand, second; Robert Steele, Colton Brunette, Aaron Niehaus, Ayushi Saxena, all third.

NDSU NEWS: Area students Alyssa Prindiville, daughter of Mark and Darla Prindiville, Fargo, Joshua Sowl, son of Gordon and Brenda Sowl, Dilworth, and Trevor Braeger, son of Mark and Tracey Braeger, Fargo, were admitted to North Dakota State University “with distinction.” Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging them as honor students. Braeger has also been awarded a $10,000 Presidential Honor Scholarship.

The Minnesota Department of Transportation recently named NDSU grad Nancy Daubenberger state bridge engineer. Daubenberger earned her bachelor’s degree in civil engineering at NDSU before earning her master’s degree at the University of Minnesota. She has worked for MNDOT since 1999.

MSUM NEWS: Alexandra Miller, daughter of Wayne and Gayle Miller, Dilworth, has been awarded a $1,000 University Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead.

MAKING THE GRADE: Krysta Jacobsen, Moorhead, and Blaine Hohertz, Christine, N.D., were named to the fall semester president’s list at Minnesota State Community and Technical College.

Neeru Jyoti, Fargo, was named to the fall semester honor roll at Mecenter One College of Nursing, Bismarck.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Minnesota State University Mankato: Amanda Quam, Battle Lake, Minn.; Jared Hensch, Campbell, Minn.; Kjirsten Kroenke, Dent, Minn.; Frances Cassiday-Maloney, Arielle Hoff, Kallie Kuhlmann, Tanner McLean, Chelsey Miranowski, Kelsey Parker, Fargo; Maggie Freeman, Ashley Heintzelman, Andrew Kowalski, Erika Magnusson, Ashley Mergens, Jana Thole, Fargo; Alyssa Girodat, Kindred, N.D.; Emily Dale, Caitlyn Gerchak, Sean Richards, Kathryn Theige, Hope Thier, Moorhead; Jennessa Moeller, Dannielle Zwieg, Parkers Prairie, Minn.; Kaitlin Sillerud, Pelican Rapids, Minn.; Jeffrey Arndt, Samuel Stoll, Perham, Minn.; Joseph Schiller, Rochert, Minn.; Lucas Steckler, Heather Utke, Tiffany Utke, West Fargo.

Cassandra Bonitto, Moorhead, was named to the dean’s list at Wichita (Kan.) State University.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Bethel University, St. Paul: Rachel Witt, Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Lydia Anonsen, Emily Bond, Laura Bond, Rachel Jacobson, Paige Lemieux, Kyle Ulstad, Fargo; Alicia Connelly, Jennifer Gard, Jami Johnson, Cristina Masten, Jared Schulz, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Jay Ripley, Andrew Satterlie, Pelican Rapids.

Fargo students Brittany Allen, Jennifer Lyng and James Staub were named to the dean’s list at Mayville (N.D.) State University.

HONOR SOCIETIES: Meghan Scheibe, Fargo, has been inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu at Creighton University, Omaha, Neb. Membership is the highest honor bestowed on an individual from a Jesuit University based on criteria of service, loyalty and scholarship.

Valerie Thompson has been inducted into the Beta Xi Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Moorhead. Students must rank in the top 20 percent of the class to be invited to membership and must maintain high academic standing during their enrollment at the two-year college. Thompson, of Sabin, Minn., majors in administrative support at MSCTC.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: The Fine Arts Club of Fargo has awarded a $400 scholarship to Emily Swedburg of Moorhead. Swedburg is a junior majoring in art at Concordia College.

CONFERENCES AND CONVENTIONS: Area North Dakota Cattlewomen Michele Bartholmay of Sheldon and Janice Rustad of Kindred recently attended the 2011 Cattle Industry and American National CattleWomen’s convention in Denver. Bartholomay serves as the North Dakota Cattlewomen president, and Rustad serves as the group’s Region 7 director.

COLLEGE BOUND: Rebecca Trautman, Moorhead, has been admitted to Concordia University, St. Paul. Trautman was awarded the Regents, Lutheran Heritage and Church Vocation scholarships, which will provide a total of $17,000 in funds.

The West Fargo VFW and Ladies Auxiliary Post 7564 recently hosted the VFW Mid-winter Conference. Highlights included:

During a conference luncheon, awards were presented to the following North Dakota Teachers of the Year: Barb Rood, Phoenix Elementary, Grand Forks, kindergarten through fifth grade; Barbara Deck, BM Manson Elementary, Harvey, grades six through eight; and Rachel Heggen, West Fargo High School, grades nine through 12. These teachers were recognized for their outstanding commitment to teach Americanism and patriotism to students. Winners will receive a $1,000 prize as well as $1,000 for their school.

Also honored were winners of the State VFW Voice of Democracy audio-essay competition and the Patriots Pen essay-writing competition. Voice of Democracy winners were Ryan Christianson, Grand Forks, first; David Lund, Cooperstown, second; and Benjamin Bergstrom, Devils Lake, third. Patriots Pen winners were Brynn Hoggan, Memorial Middle School, Minot Air Force Base, first; Emily Hertz, Harvey, second; Cody Eisenbeisz, Cheney Middle School, West Fargo, third. First-place winners will advance to the state competition.

The conference concluded with a recognition banquet for State VFW Commander Jim Hapala and State Auxiliary President Janice Best, both of West Fargo.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at www.areavoices.com/name dropper. Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or e-mail her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.