Weather Forecast


Newcomer joins re-elected incumbents on Fargo Park Board

Matt Magness1 / 3
Mary Johnson2 / 3
Joe Deutsch3 / 3

FARGO – Two incumbents won re-election to the Fargo Park Board Tuesday night, along with a newcomer.

In complete but unofficial results, Mary Johnson took 25 percent of the vote and Joe Deutsch had 24 percent.

With 20 percent of the vote, challenger Matt Magness won the third spot open on the board overseeing Fargo’s parks.

Terry Waltz and Rick Flacksbarth drew 16 percent and 15 percent, respectively.

Speaking via phone from Fairbanks, Alaska, Johnson said her first priority is to look at an indoor playground on the north side, and then examine the Forest Run/Orchard Glen area, possibly for an archery facility.

She said she was busily checking the results on her phone Tuesday night.

“Whenever it is contested, you always wonder, did I do enough,” she said.

Neither Deutsch nor Magness could be reached for comment Tuesday night.

Both Johnson, an attorney and accountant, and Deutsch, a North Dakota State University physical fitness and recreation professor, have been on the board for eight years.

Johnson, who drew 7,319 votes, and Deutsch, who won 7,061 votes, both support a new ice rink for downtown Fargo.

Magness, a business consultant, drew 5,766 votes. He joined the incumbents in supporting a downtown ice rink, as did Flacksbarth, who drew 4,250 votes. Both incumbents, Magness and Flacksbarth all supported a smoking ban in city’s parks facilities, as well.

Waltz, who had 4,645 votes, said he would need to seek more public input on a smoking ban and on a downtown skating rink.

Park Board members serve four-year terms with an annual salary of $5,544.

Readers can reach Forum reporter

Emily Welker at (701) 241-5541