Weather Forecast


Several more announce plans to seek election to ND Legislature from Fargo districts

Gretchen Dobervich1 / 6
Mary Schneider2 / 6
Tim Mathern3 / 6
Ron Guggisberg4 / 6
Quinn Garrick5 / 6
Tom Kading6 / 6

FARGO — Election Day is still nine months away, but several local legislative races are filling out with announced candidates.

Several more people announced their intentions last week to seek party nominations for the North Dakota Legislature or run for re-election.

That includes three Democratic-NPL incumbents in south Fargo's District 11 who officially announced they will run for another term in office.

Sen. Tim Mathern has served in the Senate since 1987; Rep. Ron Guggisberg has been in the House since 2011; and Rep. Gretchen Dobervich has served in the House since 2016, when she was appointed to finish the term for former Rep. Kris Wallman when she moved out of state.

North Dakota State University student Quinn Garrick announced he plans to seek the Democratic-NPL nomination for the House from District 27, which includes south Fargo, Horace, Frontier, Briarwood and Stanley.

That district's delegation during the 2017 legislative session included three Republicans, Sen. Jonathan Casper and Reps. Thomas Beadle and Randy Boehning. Boehning has been in the House since 2003; Beadle has served since 2011; and Casper has been in the Senate since 2015.

Last month, nurse and nursing advocate Kristin Roers said she would seek the GOP nomination for one of the District 27 House seats. None of the district's incumbents have announced plans for another term so far this year.

Democrat Rep. Mary Schneider has announced she will seek re-election to the House in central Fargo's District 21, which includes downtown, parts of North Dakota State University and the Hawthorne, Jefferson and Madison neighborhoods. She was first elected to the House in 2014.

The district's other incumbent House member, Rep. Kathy Hogan, said last month that she will seek the Senate seat this year. Democrat Sen. Carolyn Nelson announced last fall that she would retire in 2018 after serving in the Senate since 1994.

District 45, which includes the north parts of Fargo and West Fargo as well as homes north of the city in places like Reile's Acres, North River, Harwood, Argusville and Gardner, also gained an announced candidate. Incumbent Republican Rep. Tom Kading said he'll seek a second term in the House.

The district is also currently represented by Sen. Ron Sorvaag and Rep. Mary Johnson, who are both Republicans. Sorvaag said last month that he'll seek re-election.

Ryan Johnson

Ryan Johnson is the Features Editor for The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead. He previously wrote for The Forum and the Grand Forks Herald.

Have a comment to share about a story? Letters to the editor should include author’s name, address and phone number. Generally, letters should be no longer than 250 words. All letters are subject to editing. Send to

(701) 241-5587