Weather Forecast


Incumbent ousted as 3 new members elected to Richland 44 School Board

COLFAX, N.D. — Voter turnout was high Tuesday, June 12, for the Richland 44 School Board election — a possible indication of what's to come during August's special recall election.

Three seats were up for grabs, and only one incumbent was running to stay on the board that has dealt with several recent staff departures, investigations and controversy surrounding accusations of sexual misconduct among male students.

Kendra Dockter, the district's business manager, said typical turnout is 70 to 100 voters, while nearly 400 voted Tuesday. "We never have this many," she said.

The following results are complete but unofficial, and results will be canvassed at the next School Board meeting Monday, June 18:

Area 4, covering a portion of Ibsen and Abercrombie Township, was represented by Bryan Loff, who did not seek re-election. Todd Johnson ran unopposed for a one-year term and garnered 84 percent of the vote.

Area 5, which includes Nansen Township, is represented by incumbent Heidi Foley. Her challenger, Craig Olson, was successful in running for a three-year term by earning 75 percent of the vote compared to Foley's 25 percent.

Area 7, represented by Dan Haverland, who suffered from extreme hypothermia in January, had a contested race between two newcomers, David Thompson and Nicole Rostad Holdman. Thompson garnered 27 percent of the vote compared to Holdman's 67 percent, which earned her a three-year term.

Three other board members, including President Lisa Amundson, are the target of an Aug. 2 recall election. Amundson has one challenger, Amy Lehmann, for Area 3, which represents the city of Abercrombie.

Josh Mjoness of Area 1, which represents Eagle North Township, is being challenged by Scott Hendrickson and Derek Beito. Area 6, which includes the city of Colfax, is represented by Sarah Myers. She is being challenged by Jody Lingen and Paul Lucas.

Kim Hyatt

Kim Hyatt is a reporter with The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead and a 2014 graduate of the University of Minnesota Duluth. She started her newspaper career at the Owatonna People’s Press covering arts and education. In 2016, she received Minnesota Newspaper Association's Dave Pyle New Journalist Award and later that year she joined The Forum newsroom.

(701) 241-5511