FARGO — North Dakota State is scheduled to start its football season Sept. 6 against the Oregon Ducks in Eugene. WDAY-TV sports director Dom Izzo is compiling memorable moments and players from program history to count down each of the 100 days leading up to the start of the regular season.

Below are Izzo's video packages that highlight from days 90-to-81 before the Bison are slated to play at Autzen Stadium against an FBS and Pac-12 Conference opponent. This part of the countdown includes Bison legends Phil Hansen, Carson Wentz, Jeff Bentrim and Tony Satter.

There are also bonus additions for several days during this portion of the countdown.

81: Former Bison wide receiver Warren Holloway, who wore jersey No. 81, was a offensive weapon for NDSU en route to its first NCAA Division I FCS championship in the 2011 season. The 6-foot-2, 199-pound Holloway finished his career with 161 catches for 2,232 yards and 14 touchdowns.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

82: Two former NDSU pass catchers, who both wore jersey No. 82, share the stage at 82. Wide receiver Zach Vraa finished his career with 195 receptions for 2,957 yards and 28 TDs. Tight end Ben Ellefson had 16 touchdown catches during his career, setting a program record for his position in that category.

83: The Bison earned a convincing victory against Central State to win the 1983 NCAA Division II national championship. Bonus selection: Bison quarterback Carson Wentz led NDSU on a game-winning drive to win the 2015 FCS national title against Illinois State in an instant classic.

84: Former Bison wide receiver Travis White tears off an 84-yard punt return for a touchdown during the 2006 Dakota Marker Game against South Dakota State. The Bison won their first Great West Conference title that season.

85: Former Bison greats, quarterback Jeff Bentrim and running back Chad Stark, sparked NDSU to the 1985 NCAA Division II national championship against North Alabama.

86: Former Bison quarterback Jeff Bentrim scored two touchdowns to lead NDSU to a 27-7 victory against the University of South Dakota for the 1986 NCAA Division II national championship, capping perfect season.

87: Bison junior tight end Noah Gindorff, who wears jersey No. 87, had 10 catches for 170 yards and six touchdowns last season.

88: Former Bison wide receiver Eric Perkins had an 88-yard punt return for a touchdown during the 2015 FCS semifinals against the Richmond Spiders at the Fargodome. Bonus selection: The Bison won the 1988 NCAA Division II national title game against Portland State, capping a 14-0 season. Quarterback Chris Simdorn and running back Tony Satter each scored two touchdowns.

89: Jacksonville State upended the Bison in the NCAA Division II quarterfinals.

90: Former Bison defensive Phil Hansen, who wore jersey No. 90, was one of the best past rushers in NDSU history. Hansen went on to a stellar NFL career with the Buffalo Bills and is a member of the Bison Athletic Hall of Fame.