FRISCO, Texas - North Dakota State made history Saturday, knocking off Eastern Washington 38-24 to win its seventh FCS Championship, giving them the most in the division's history. Senior wide receiver Darrius Shepherd was named the game's Most Outstanding Player, finishing with five receptions for 125 yards and two touchdowns. NDSU becomes the fifth team in FCS history to go unbeaten and win the national title, the last was the 2013 Bison.

Senior quarterback Easton Stick goes out as the all-time winningest quarterback in FCS history with his 49th, surpassing former Bison great Brock Jensen. Stick finished with a combined five touchdowns, racking up ten scores in his last two games as the Bison quarterback.

The NDSU defense, while allowing 24 points, picked up three turnovers, including two interceptions of quarterback Eric Barriere.

NDSU was without senior running back Bruce Anderson, who missed the game with a quad injury that he injured during the semifinal win over South Dakota State. They also were without the services of junior fullback Brock Robbins, who was suspended for a failed drug test after the Jacks game. He took a banned stimulant and his status for 2019 is undecided.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Chris Klieman leaves Fargo with a record of 69-6 and ties the record for most championship wins as a head coach with Jim Tressel, the legendary coach at Youngstown State, who also left the FCS for a Power Five job. Tressel went to Ohio State. Klieman leaves Fargo tomorrow for the AFCA convention in San Antonio to begin his full time job as head coach at Kansas State.

Join Dom Izzo, Jeff Kolpack, Mike McFeely and Eric Peterson as they recap the game and the entire 2018 season.