Weather Forecast


Honors and officers

Brasgalla chosen as travel event ambassador

Travel Weekly and TravelAge West announced that professional travel advisor Lisa Brasgalla of Fargo was selected to attend a Global Travel Marketplace event. More than 800 applications are received for the approximate 200 spots available across the event.

GTM connects travel advisors in North America with cruise, hotel, tour and destination suppliers through one-on-one appointments, boardroom presentations and numerous networking events at conferences in Las Vegas and Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Nurse recognized at Essentia Health-Fargo

Essentia Health recognized Megan Dickmeyer, registered nurse, with the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses for the month of April. Dickmeyer was nominated by a patient's family member for her attentiveness and soothing demeanor. The nomination went on to say Dickmeyer made a difficult time easier for the family, even stopping in on her day off to check on everyone. The award is part of the DAISY Foundation's program to recognize the efforts nurses perform every day.

Park Co. Realtors agents receive awards

Jenny Schuster and Justin Berg were named the top-listing Realtors during the month of April for Park Co. Realtors in Fargo. This award is given to the agents who have the highest cumulative listing volume for the month.

Bernie Erickson was named the Park Co. Realtors kiosk Realtor during the month of April. Erickson received the honor for having the highest transaction volume at the West Acres kiosk.

Sanford celebrates nurses

Sanford honored nursing staff with an annual reception and award ceremony in Fargo to highlight those impacting the field of nursing.

The Evelyn Quigley Spirit of Nursing Award, the highest honor of the night, was given to Joan Cook for significant contributions through her nursing career in the provision of the art and the science of nursing. Through strength of character, commitment and competence, she is recognized by peers for leaving a legacy to encourage others in professional practice and elevating the role of professional nursing in the organization as well as society.

The Florence Nightingale Award, which recognizes nurses who contribute to the evolution of the nursing practice, were given to: Susie Dahlin, Kathy Erickson, Mary Lang, Marissa Manske, Robin Mikkelsen, Fartun Muhumed, Sarah Nygaard, Christine Phillips, Karen Sanderson, Amy Schmidt, Stacie Weible and Mechelle Zima.

The Star of Nursing Award, which recognizes nurses in their first two years of practice was given to: Oyumaa Badral, Katie (Chiodini) Wall, Anthony Minke, Manoj Rayamajhi and Cassie Scherer.

The Innovation Award was given to Mary Gokey, and it recognizes nurses or groups of nurses who are involved in innovation of the practice of nursing through behaviors, actions and delivery of care.

The Lamp of Knowledge Award honors those who educate others as professional nurses. Those honored include Paulette Anderson, Savannah Gust, Shelly Mahowald, Brian McKeever and Joyce VanLith.

The Friend of Nursing Recognition Award recognizes individuals or groups who have supported the nursing profession and recognize the value of nursing to patients, the organization and the community. Katie Bauers, Chip Storandt and the Home Care Therapy Department received this award.

The Community Service Award, which recognizes nurses or groups of nurses who are making positive differences in their towns and neighborhoods, was awarded to Sanford Medical Center Wheaton's Weekend Food Program.

TNT Kid's Fitness honors employees at banquet

TNT Kid's Fitness and Gymnastics in Fargo recently held its first employee awards night. Four employees were highlighted for their dedication over the past year: Ashlee Hilliard, Rookie of the Year; Ryan Williams, Employee Advocate of the Year; Janine Wolf, Outstanding Employee of the Year and Nate Hendrickson; Unlock Potential Award Winner. TNT also named Vickie Piepkorn Volunteer of the Year for her unending support of TNT and all its programs.

MBNA elects president, new board of trustees

Dave Anderson of Dakota Monument Company in Fargo was elected president of the Monument Builders of North America at the Indiana Convention Center recently held in Indianapolis.

Dakota Monument Company and Dave Anderson are members of the American Institute of Commemorative Art, Monument Builders of North America, Northwest Monument Builders and the Fargo Chamber of Commerce.

MBNA is the largest trade association for firms and individuals in Canada and the United States that are engaged in the retail sale of monuments, wholesalers and manufacturers of monuments, or provide goods, services and materials to retailers or wholesalers of monuments.

Fargo architect Shaul to retire

After four decades serving Fargo and the surrounding communities, JLG Architect Mark Shaul will retire in June.

Shaul graduated from North Dakota State University, earning a bachelor of arts degree in 1975 and a bachelor of architecture in 1976. He took his first architectural job with Foss Engelstad Foss in 1976, and later worked for Bruce Hella Architectural Studio, T.L. Stroh Architects and Foss Architecture before joining JLG.

Some of his notable projects include The Village Family Service Center, the West Acres renovation and food court, renovations to Vogel Law Firm and the NDSU Memorial Union, the Concordia College Offutt School of Business and the Wellness Center at the University of Minnesota-Crookston.

Hoard, Olson named to Coldwell Banker society

Fargo-based Coldwell Banker Element Realty's John Hoard, sales associate, and Nick Olson, broker, have been honored as members of the company's 2016 International Sterling Society. The membership was awarded to the top 17 percent of all sales representatives worldwide in the Coldwell Banker system.

Both men are licensed in North Dakota and Minnesota. Hoard has been in the profession since 2007 and Olson since 2002.