Forum nabs 16 awards in Minnesota Newspaper Association's Better Newspaper Contest

Forum file photo
Forum file photo

The Forum and its staff claimed 16 awards, including seven first-place awards, among daily newspapers in the Minnesota Newspaper Association’s 2017-2018 Better Newspaper Contest.

Three first-place awards were for deep reporting related to the murder of Savanna LaFontaine-Greywind and the kidnapping of her unborn child.

The contest period was from October 2017 to October 2018.

Awards were handed out last week at the state’s annual newspaper convention in Bloomington.

First-place winners are:

  • Helmut Schmidt, breaking news, for a story on a West Fargo oil tank fire that forced residents inside and challenged emergency responders.

  • Blake Gumprecht, investigative reporting and hard news, for a deeply reported story examining the death of LaFontaine-Greywind and the police investigation.

  • Chris Murphy, sports feature, for a story on a standout athlete and his friend with cerebral palsy in Perham, Minn.

  • Sara Slaby, design portfolio, for a collection of creative page designs and layouts.

  • The newspaper as a whole for its use of multimedia in marking the one-year anniversary of Lafontaine-Greywind’s death.

  • The newspaper as a whole for its use of photography.

Second-place winners are:

  • Troy Becker, information graphics and graphic illustrations, for a portrayal of funding related to Bison athletics at North Dakota State University.

  • The newspaper as a whole for its typography and design.

Third-place winners are:

  • Kim Hyatt, social issues, for a story examining why minority children are more likely to drown.

  • Robin Huebner, community leadership, for examining the prevalence of radon poisoning in the region.

  • Emma Vatnsdal, new journalist of the year, for her skills writing and reporting.

  • Tu-Uyen Tran, human interest, for a story on a pastor who turned her back on President Trump during his rally in Fargo.

  • Dave Samson, portrait and personality photo, for a photo of Isaiah Skiple, captain of the Fargo North Spartans swim team.

  • Chris Flynn, use of video, for a piece on a Fargo flower shop.

  • Jason Magstadt, best use of color in advertising, for a Luther Family Ford ad.