FARGO - Shawn Dobberstein, executive director of Hector International Airport, has been named the 2019 Airport Professional of the Year by the Great Lakes Chapter of the American Association of Airport Executives.

Dobberstein, who was also recently elected president of the organization, was honored for more than 28 years of leadership in the airport industry. He received the award at the group’s President’s Banquet during its 51st annual conference July 26-28 in Evansville, Ind.

“This association is full of hardworking professionals who have given so much to the industry.”


WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Dobberstein said in a news release. “I’m honored to be recognized by this group of airport executives.”

“Shawn has served Hector for many years, putting in countless hours of ensuring the airport runs smoothly and making sure our passengers have a good experience,” said Mike Haugen, chairman of the Fargo Airport Authority. “This award brings pride to Hector International Airport and the region we serve.”

The Great Lakes Chapter of the AAAE includes more than 400 airport administrators and representatives of firms serving airports in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin and the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Manitoba.

North Dakota entered the GLC in 1969.

Hector International Airport is served by Delta, United Express, Frontier, American Eagle and Allegiant airlines.