Honors and Officers (February 18, 2012)

Rustebakke to head Credit Review Board David Rustebakke, Larimore, N.D., has been elected chairman of the North Dakota Credit Review Board. First appointed to the CRB in 1993, Rustebakke has been reappointed to nine consecutive terms on the six-m...

Rustebakke to head Credit Review Board

David Rustebakke, Larimore, N.D., has been elected chairman of the North Dakota Credit Review Board.

First appointed to the CRB in 1993, Rustebakke has been reappointed to nine consecutive terms on the six-member board that establishes policy for the North Dakota Mediation Service and advises the Industrial Commission on Bank of North Dakota farm lending programs.

Other members are Paul Burtman, Wildrose; Barry Hanson, Cavalier; Michael Martin, Forbes; Gerald Melvin, Buffalo; and George Wald, Dickinson.

Members appointed to ND export council


Six new members have been appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce to the North Dakota District Export Council, a voluntary body that promotes exporting and global trade.

New appointees: Lee Beauclair, Jim Richts-meier, Cathy Spencer, John Novak, Mort Sarabakhsh and Todd Sinner.

Members who were renewed are Cherie Harms, Neil Whittey, John Mittleider, Ralf Mehnert-Meland, Chris Harris, Tom Shorma and Tom Kenville.

DEC officers are: Shorma, chairman; Kenville, vice chairman; Sinner, treasurer; and Heather Ranck, executive secretary.

Health programs earn DMF Star Awards

Several health programs have been honored with Star Awards by Dakota Medical Foundation, Fargo, for outstanding performance in positively affecting the health of people in the region. Those honored are:

- Linda Lembke and Sonya Fischer from Child Care Resource and Referral, Moorhead, for developing educational tools and promoting healthy eating and increased physical activity among regional child cares.

- Paul Finstad, YMCA Cass Clay, Fargo, for community collaboration and healthy lifestyle promotion.


- Tracy Ekeren, HEART Living at Home/Block Nurse Program, Enderlin, N.D., for coordinating and sustaining elderly home visitation services.

- Cheryl Harlow and Northern Plains Rail Services, Fordville and Lansford, N.D., and Erskine, Minn., for building an energized and effective worksite wellness program.

- Dr. Brent Holman, for organizing a free dental day and delivering dental care to uninsured children on the Spirit Lake Reservation at Fort Totten, N.D.

- Dr. Joel Haugen, for his leadership and dedication as chairman of the DMF board of directors. He has served on the board for 12 years, the past three as chairman, and is credited with providing direction in the area of disease prevention.

RLE earns concrete excellence award

The RLE Group/Tvenge Associates, Fargo, has earned the Excellence in Concrete award from the North Dakota Ready Mix and Concrete Products Association.

The award was received for its design of the Bismarck Public Schools Career Academy, which used energy-efficient and durable precast concrete exteriors as part of the project.

U.S. Bank honors three with Pinnacle Awards


U.S. Bank has awarded three area employees with its Pinnacle Award for outstanding achievement and superior performance during the fourth quarter of 2011. The winners are: Brent Kelley, branch manager of the north Fargo office; Julianne Schumacher, branch manager of the Moorhead office; and LaVonne Storhaug, branch manager in the Lisbon, N.D., office.

Two Sanford nurses receive Daisy Awards

Registered nurses Brett Cadwell and Verna Metzger have received the Daisy Award.

The award is given to nurses who are recognized as outstanding role models who consistently demonstrate excellence through clinical expertise and compassionate, extraordinary care.

Cadwell works in cardiac intensive care and Metzger works in the day unit, both at Sanford Health in Fargo.

Ulteig earns awards for Park Rapids project

Ulteig of Fargo has received an Honor Award from the American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota for its work on the reconstruction project in downtown Park Rapids, Minn.

The project included replacing utilities and rebuilding streets and sidewalks, and building streetscapes with trees and street lighting and center parallel parking using colored stamped concrete.

ND suicide prevention chapter earns award

The North Dakota Chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention has earned the 2011 Overall Chapter of the Year Award from the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

The chapter was recognized for expanding the Out of the Darkness Community Walks to six communities, starting the first survivor support group for teens in North Dakota, training volunteers from across the region to facilitate bereavement support groups, for sponsoring a conference on how to best support lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender youth in the community and for expanding the foundation's college web-based interactive screening program to the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks.

Asche honored for new membership growth

Steve Asche, a Fargo-based Thrivent Financial for Lutherans wealth adviser, has been honored by Thrivent for new membership growth.

He ranked fourth nationally among nearly 2,300 representatives for attracting new adult benefit members.

HotSprings Spas earns two national awards

HotSprings Spas and Pool Tables 2, West Fargo, was named Territory Dealer of the Year and also earned the Retail Excellence for Showroom Design at the recent annual dealer conference in Orlando, Fla.

Products from HotSprings Spas have been sold and serviced in the Fargo-Moorhead area for 36 years. Vince Wuebker is owner of the business.

Boschee earns service award from Re/Max

Del Boschee, an associate with Re/Max Realty 1 in Moorhead, was recognized at the Re/Max North Central Day of Distinction and Awards Celebration for his outstanding achievements in 2011. Boschee was honored with a service award for his 15 years of service and commitment to the Re/Max organization.

What To Read Next
The Bismarck location was recently added to a list of stores which the struggling retailer said it plans to close in 2023.
Fargo Park Board votes 4-0 to contract with developer Andy Skatvold and Kjerbeersten LLC open the 19th Hole at Rose Creek starting in April.
Co-owners Gerald Bailey and Kaluah Smith say they hope to open the Classic Touch nightclub in mid-February in the southern portion of the building at 1500 11th St. N., Moorhead.
Louis and Cyril Keller are the inventors of the Bobcat skid-steer loader and were selected as 2023 inductees into the National Inventors Hall of Fame.