Honors and Officers (January 21, 2012)

Dagen, Thompson earn potato industry awards Justin Dagen a potato seed grower from Karlstad, Minn., and North Dakota State University potato breeder Asunta "Susie" Thompson, have received national recognition at Potato Expo 2012, held recently in...

Dagen, Thompson earn potato industry awards

Justin Dagen a potato seed grower from Karlstad, Minn., and North Dakota State University potato breeder Asunta "Susie" Thompson, have received national recognition at Potato Expo 2012, held recently in Orlando, Fla.

Dagen received the Potato Man of the Year award and Thompson won the National Potato Council's Meritorious Service Award.

Dagen and Thompson were nominated by the Northern Plains Potato Growers Association in East Grand Forks, Minn.

The Dagen Heritage Farm has been operated by the Dagen family for more than 130 years, with Justin at the helm for the past 36 years. The 1,800 acre farm typically raises about 300 acres of certified seed potatoes.


Thompson is considered one of the top potato breeders in the country. In the past eight years, Thompson has released four new commercial varieties including the chipping varieties Dakota Pearl, Dakota Crisp and Dakota Diamond, and most recently the Dakota Trailblazer which is the first frozen processing variety to be released by North Dakota State University.

Habitat for Humanity elects board members

Lake Agassiz Habitat for Humanity in Moorhead has elected Judd Graham, Josh Hoper, Angie McCarthy and Searle Swedlund to its board of directors.

Graham is market president of Wells Fargo's business banking operations in Fargo, West Fargo, Grand Forks and Moorhead. A native of Grand Forks, Graham has a bachelor's degree from Minnesota State University and has more than 25 years of experience in the financial services industry. He joined Wells Fargo in 1994 and has served in his current role since 2008.

Hoper has more than 12 years of experience in the technology and business consulting industry and is currently a technical specialist and serving on the board of directors at Summit Group Software.

McCarthy is a financial adviser with Ameriprise Financial. He has been with Ameriprise for 20 years.

Swedlund has worked for Concordia College for 12 years in a variety of roles and currently serves as associate director of alumni and parent relations. He also advises the student Habitat for Humanity board, which coordinates seven trips for 135 students to work on Habitat for Humanity build sites throughout the nation.

VanderBush earns Spirit of Excellence award


Wes VanderBush of G& K Services, West Fargo, has earned the Spirit of Excellence award for 2011.

The award is given to sales representatives who make or exceed top sales levels for the year.

VanderBush has been with G&K Services for six years.

SBA recognizes Dakota Certified Development

Dakota Certified Development Corp. in Fargo and Bismarck has received the Small Business Administration's Director's Award.

The DCDC approved 44 loans worth $28 million under the SBA's 504 Loan Program during the past fiscal year.

They are among seven lenders in North Dakota recognized by the SBA.

Ulteig office earns Energy Star rating


The Ulteig office at 3350 38th Ave. S., Fargo, has received a certified Energy Star rating for 2011 after providing documentation that the building uses 35 percent less energy and generates 35 percent fewer greenhouse gas emissions than comparable structures.

Ulteig engineer Aaron Faiman spearheaded the project, making changes to the automation system and adjusting the building's boilers.

The Fargo Ulteig office joins 26 other Energy Star certified facilities in North Dakota.

Olson honored for real estate industry service

Dennis Olson, a sales associate with Coldwell Banker Commercial First Realty, has been honored by the F-M Area Association of Realtors for more than 50 years of service in the real estate industry.

Olson has been with Coldwell Banker Commercial First Realty for 29 years where he specializes in leasing, commercial sales and investments, and farms and ranches in North Dakota, Minnesota and South Dakota.

Elbert recognized for portfolio management

Jeremy Elbert, a branch director and financial adviser with RBC Wealth Management's Fargo office, has been selected as a member of the firm's Portfolio Focus/Portfolio Manager Group which recognizes advisers for their success in portfolio management practices.

To qualify, Elbert demonstrated a commitment to creating and managing customized portfolios designed to meet client's individual investment needs, enhancing their professional knowledge and portfolio management skills, and maintaining an excellent record of customer service.

Information tech group elects board members

The Information Technology Service Management Forum North Dakota local interest group has elected its 2012 board members.

The itSMF promotes the adoption of vendor neutral, industry best practices and standards in the provision and management of IT services.

Those elected include:

- Heidi Domier, Border States Electric, president;

- Heidi Guggenberger, StrataCom, president elect and communications chairwoman;

- Geoff Lowe, independent consultant, membership:

- Jessica Candy, Sanford, finance:

- Jen Orth, Noridian, programs; and

- Todd Jacobson, Noridian; Laura Walker, StrataCom; Justin Schiele, TekSystems; Dale Dingman, Border States Electric; and Audra Kutz, Advance Market Place, all members at large.

Bethany's Larson elected to NADONA post

Neal Larson, senior executive of Medicare and contracted service at Bethany Retirement Living, Fargo, has been elected treasurer of the National Association of Directors of Nursing Administration.

Larson received an associate's degree and licensed practical nursing certification at Fergus Falls (Minn.) Community College and earned an associate's degree in nursing from North Dakota State University.

He was assistant director and director of nursing at the Moorhead Health Care Center before coming to Bethany in 1988 where he has served as assistant director of resident care, corporate compliance officer and director of resident care. He was named to his current position in 2009.

TNT Kid's Fitness center adds board member

Sherri Sandvig, vice president of human resources at Border States Electric Supply, Fargo, has joined the TNT Kid's Fitness board of directors in Fargo.

Toastmasters club elects new officers

The Great Plains Toastmasters Club has elected new officers. Those elected include:

Catherine McDade, District D governor; Becky Hoffman, president; Pi-shia Su, vice president of education; Monica Hart, vice president of membership; Rachel Ramstad, secretary: Denise Larson, treasurer: and Billie Sutherland, Sergeant at Arms.

What To Read Next
Owners Tim and Elaine Gaslin say a changing market and the 11th Street underpass project prompted them to close their physical location, but they'll still sell CDs and DVDs online.
John Bultman recently received notice from the city of Fargo that the business he has operated for 42 years violates city ordinances and he was given until March 30 to shut down.
Reporter Tammy Swift joins host Thomas Evanella to talk about why new businesses are finding big success in small towns.
City is offering the Moorhead-based craft brewery a package of property tax breaks and economic development funds that approaches $700,000.