Honors and Officers (July 21, 2012)

Diabetes Association appoints five members The American Diabetes Association office of North Dakota and northwestern Minnesota has appointed five new members to its community leadership board.

Diabetes Association appoints five members

The American Diabetes Association office of North Dakota and northwestern Minnesota has appointed five new members to its community leadership board.

Those elected were: Nancy Hostetter, education coordinator for the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Bismarck, advocacy chairwoman; Carol Johnson, general manager of the Ramada Plaza and Suites, Fargo, and director of operations for National Hospitality Services, chairwoman-elect; Jeanine Larson, web content coordinator in the marketing department at State Bank and Trust, Fargo, marketing and communications chairwoman; and Tera Miller, director of the diabetes prevention and control program for the North Dakota Department of Health, and Judd Wagner, general member, vice president of marketing and chief marketing officer at Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota, general members.

Summit Group honored for business success

Summit Group Software, West Fargo, a Microsoft Dynamics Gold Certified Partner, has been named to the Microsoft Dynamics President's Club for the fourth time.


The club honors high-performing Microsoft Dynamics partners with commitments to customers that are reflected in their business success and growth.

This group represents the top 5 percent of Microsoft Dynamics partners worldwide.

F-M Area Foundation names four new officers

The Fargo-Moorhead Area Foundation Board of Governors has named new officers for 2012-2013.

The new officers are: Corey Elmer, an attorney with the Vogel Law Firm, chairman; Kate Haugen, associate vice president for student affairs at North Dakota State University, vice chairwoman; Thomas Jefferson, a State Farm agent, secretary; and Dorwin Marquardt, retired banker, treasurer.

Swanson selected for management program

Charlene Swanson has been selected to participate in the Border States Electric management trainee program. She will relocate to the company's branch office in Sioux Falls, S.D.

She joined Border States in Fargo in 2001 as a pricing associate and has since held various positions.


Over the two-year training program, Swanson will learn about all aspects of branch sales and operations through hands-on training and development.

Troy Ivesdal receives award for client service

Troy Ivesdal has won Edward Jones' Ed Armstrong Award for his achievement in building client relationships.

The award is named after Armstrong, who built a successful Edward Jones branch office in Grand Island, Neb.

Ivesdal is a financial adviser with the Edward Jones office in Fargo.

Choice Financial named top ag lender in ND

Choice Financial has been ranked the No. 1 farm lender in North Dakota in the American Bankers Association Top 100 Farm Lenders by dollar volume.

With $212 million in total farm loans in 2011, Choice Financial ranked 59th in the nation.


The bank operates nine branches in North Dakota, including Fargo, West Fargo, Grand Forks, Grafton, Langdon, Walhalla, Petersburg and Goodrich.

District 22 Quota club elects new officers

District 22 Quota International elected new officers at its district conference held recently in Minneapolis.

Those elected are: Paula Kelly, West Fargo, district governor; Sandy Siemers, Bismarck, lieutenant governor; and LaVerne Seefeld, Fargo, secretary treasurer.

Kelly is a deposit services officer for Ramsey National Bank, Fargo; Siemers is a retired licensed social worker; and Seefeld is a retired assistant branch manager for Ford Motor Credit Co.

District 22 includes Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois and North Dakota.

Herrmann earns Pacesetter 40 award

Dustin Herrmann of Fargo was awarded the Pacesetter 40 award during the recent annual meeting of financial representatives of Northwestern Mutual in Milwaukee.


The award honors financial representatives who sell 40 life policies during their first six months in the business.

Herrmann recently joined Northwestern Mutual of Fargo.

Morgan named Arts Advocate Leader of Year

Dawn Morgan was awarded the 2012 Arts Advocate Leader of the Year Award by the Arts Partnership.

Morgan has been a leader in arts initiatives, establishing the Spirit Room in Fargo, a nonprofit arts and humanities organization.

She has also published the Shining Times, a free literary publication, was a founding member and elected officer of FM Visual Artists, was president of the board when founding Nordic Arts Alliance and is currently president of the board of directors for Nordic Culture Clubs, which hosts the annual Scandinavian Hjemkomst Festival.

The Spirit Room was recently expanded and now houses three arts galleries and also added 15 artist's studios.

What To Read Next
Get Local