Honors and officers (March 11, 2017)

0 photosNDSU Alumni Awards announcedThe North Dakota State University Foundation and Alumni Association has announced the 2017 Alumni Awards recipients. They will be recognized during "An Evening of Distinction" April 20 in Fargo.

NDSU Alumni Awards announced

The North Dakota State University Foundation and Alumni Association has announced the 2017 Alumni Awards recipients. They will be recognized during "An Evening of Distinction" April 20 in Fargo.

This year's recipient of the Heritage Award for Alumni Service is Julie Burgum, a 1975 graduate in education administration and 2002 master's in family and consumer science education graduate. She maintains membership on the NDSU Board of Visitors for the College of Human Development and Education, NDSU Foundation and Alumni Association Board of Trustees, advisory board for the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences and Bison Arts board. Burgum is a former family and consumer science instructor at West Fargo and Arthur, N.D., and previously was a consulting home economist for the North Dakota Wheat Commission.

The Heritage Award for Alumni Service recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding support of time and talent to NDSU projects or activities.

This year's recipients of the Service Award are Jeffry Volk, 1977 graduate in civil engineering, and Jeanie Volk, a 1976 graduate in nursing. They are members of the President's Silver Medallion Society and co-chaired Bison Bidder Bowls XXIX and XXX. Jeffry Volk also serves as a trustee of the foundation and Alumni Association. They also established the Volk Family Engineering Endowment Scholarship and the Jeanie and Jeffry Volk Nursing Endowment Scholarship.


Jeffry Volk is president and CEO of Moore Engineering, with offices in West Fargo, Minot and Bismarck in North Dakota, and Fergus Falls, Minn. Jeanie Volk is a retired registered nurse who worked for St. Luke's Hospital and MeritCare from 1976 to 2004.

The Service Award recognizes dedicated service in fundraising and outstanding contributions to NDSU and the Foundation and Alumni Association.

For more information, visit or contact Tori Schmidt at (701) 231-6836 or .

Airmen of the Year Award winners recognized

The North Dakota Air National Guard in Fargo, known as the "Happy Hooligans," honored the organization's top noncommissioned officers and unit members of the year during its 2016 Outstanding Airman of Year banquet on March 4 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Fargo.

Tech. Sgt. Jeremiah Colbert was named the Career Advisor of the Year for his individual efforts and achievement with unit retention and career motivation program management.

Senior Master Sgt. Rollie Swedberg was named First Sergeant of the Year, which recognizes the contributions and leadership qualities exhibited by first sergeants in the Air Force.

Airman 1st Class Ashley Laine was named Outstanding Airman of the Year, Tech. Sgt. Dylan Lorenzen was recognized as the Outstanding Noncommissioned Officer of the Year and Master Sgt. Merri Jo "MJ" Filloon was named the Outstanding Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year.


Laine began her military career when she joined the North Dakota Air National Guard in August 2014. She is a fusion analyst with the 177th Intelligence Squadron. Laine attends North Dakota State University, and is pursuing a degree in nursing. She also volunteers her time with the Minnesota Autism Association and Habitat for Humanity, and is involved with the Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society.

Lorenzen began his military career when he enlisted in the North Dakota Air National Guard in September 2010. He started as a mission intelligence coordinator with the 178th Reconnaissance Squadron prior to his current position as a full-time network warfare analyst within the 177th Intelligence Squadron. Lorenzen attended the University of Mary in Bismarck where he earned a business administration degree. He volunteers his time with the Lake Agassiz Habitat for Humanity, Homeward Animal Shelter, Special Olympics of North Dakota and the Air Force Association Cyber Patriot program. He also volunteers as a wrestling coach and is an active member of the North Dakota State Bison Wrestling Club. He's involved with the Enlisted Association of the National Guard of the U.S. and InfraGard.

Filloon began her military service in February 1990 when she enlisted in the North Dakota Army National Guard. She served in the Army Guard for nine years before transferring to the Air National Guard. She a recruiting and retention manager within the Force Support Squadron of the 119th Wing. Filloon attended Bismarck State College and then North Dakota State University, where she majored in accounting and business. She is active in the youth programs at her church and is involved with a number of organizations including the Combined Federal Campaign, Wounded Warrior Project, Compassion International and Feed My Starving Children.

NDSU nursing faculty named fellow

Molly Secor-Turner, associate professor in the North Dakota State University School of Nursing, has been designated a fellow in the Society of Adolescent Health and Medicine. She will be honored at the 2017 Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine's annual meeting March 10 in New Orleans.

Secor-Turner was selected for her local and global health leadership efforts. She founded the group For the Good Period, providing health education to girls in Kenya, and opportunities for nursing students at NDSU to learn about global health care and rural Kenyan community health.

Secor-Turner and Brandy Randall, associate professor in human development and family science, received the Exemplary Leader Award at Progress on the Prairie.

Additional honors for Secor-Turner include being nominated as a 2016 Woman of the Year by Cass Clay YWCA. She also was inducted into the NDSU Tapestry of Diverse Talents.


Todd Clark honored at Country Financial

Todd Clark, a financial representative with Country Financial in Fargo, has earned the status of All-American for the 2016 production year.

All-American status honors Country Financial representatives who met or exceeded production in overall units, property and casualty, life insurance. Clark was ranked 43rd among about 800 employee financial representatives nationwide.

Clark was honored at a recent regional meeting in Minneapolis consisting of representatives from North Dakota, Minnesota and Wisconsin. He will also be honored nationally at an awards banquet in Cabo San Lucas in April.

Hopperstad earns senior living designation

Lisa Hopperstad, associate wealth management adviser with Mike Mathias, Northwestern Mutual in Fargo, has earned the Chartered Advisor for Senior Living professional designation from The American College, Bryn Mawr, Pa.

Candidates for the CASL designation must complete a minimum of five courses and 10 hours of supervised examinations. They must also fulfill experience and ethics requirements. The CASL program is the only credential for financial professionals serving older Americans approved for use in all 50 states.

Mathias receives industry honor


Michael Mathias, wealth management adviser and a financial representative with Gores Group of Northwestern Mutual in Fargo has qualified for membership in the Million Dollar Roundtable, an international, independent association of nearly 19,000 leading life insurance producers. MDRT indicates sales and service achievement and is a mark of excellence for life underwriters.

Mathias has been associated with Northwestern Mutual since 1978. He has also received several certifications through the American College. Mathias earned a bachelor of arts degree from North Dakota State University.

What To Read Next
Get Local