Honors and Officers (September 17, 2011)

RMA Chapter elects board members The North Central Chapter of the Risk Management Association has elected new members to the board of directors. Those elected include: Mark Jensen, Western State Bank, president; Justin Pearson, Greater Fargo Moor...

RMA Chapter elects board members

The North Central Chapter of the Risk Management Association has elected new members to the board of directors.

Those elected include: Mark Jensen, Western State Bank, president; Justin Pearson, Greater Fargo Moorhead Economic Development Corp., first vice president; Jamey Pesek, Principal Financial Group, second vice president; Valerie Benson, U.S. Bank, secretary; Chad Dejong, Bradley Business Advisors, treasurer; Byron Ekdom, Bank of the West, communications chairman; and Chris Howell, Bremer Bank, membership chairman.

Also named to the board were: Doug Burchill, State Bank and Trust; Dale Hetland, Starion Financial; Kory Shae, Union State Bank; Jaramie Schoepp, Ag Country; Ann Ham, Ramsey National Bank; John Ohleen, Wells Fargo Bank; Shelly Kegley, State Bank and Trust; Kent Anderson, American Federal; and Cole Keney, Alerus Financial.

Moorhead ACE earns platinum status


Ace Hardware Corp. has named Moorhead Ace a Vision 21 Platinum retailer for its exemplary service and retail operations.

Ace's Vision 21 retail achievement program provides initiatives, guidelines and goals designed to help Ace stores improve sales and overall store performance.

Of the three levels of Vision 21 achievement a store can reach, platinum level is the highest.

NDSCS teacher and provider recognized

North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, educators Lisa Schumacher and Deborah Dusek have received awards for their work in special needs education and their dedication to student success.

Schumacher, a reading and writing lab assistant, has been named Outstanding Career and Technical Special Needs Teacher of the Year.

Dusek, an English and humanities association professor, was named Outstanding Direct Special Needs Support Provider of the Year.

Both awards are given annually at the North Dakota Association for Career and Technical Education Conference.


Transportation program wins national award

The Transportation Leadership Graduate Certificate program was awarded the 2011 Innovation in Education Award at the Institute of Transportation Engineers awards reception recently held in St. Louis.

TLGC is a post-baccalaureate certificate program sponsored by the Regional University Transportation Centers and currently offered at North Dakota State University.

The program was awarded for its ability to attract students to transportation-related careers as well as the manner in which it develops and retains current professionals.

Ham elected president of teachers association

Lee Ham was elected president of the North Dakota Retired Teachers Association at the state convention recently held in Bismarck.

Lee earned a master's degree at North Dakota State University. He spent 38 years in the education field, including 35 years as a school administrator.

Insurance group honors Rode for leadership


The Society of Certified Insurance Counselors has honored Jan Rode of BW Insurance Agency, Fargo, for her dedication and leadership in the insurance industry.

Rode was awarded a certificate of achievement, recognizing five consecutive years of active affiliation with the Society of CIC.

ND state employees recognized for service

North Dakota Gov. Jack Dalrymple has awarded the Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service six state employees. Those receiving awards include:

- Kristin Lunneborg, chief financial officer for the North Dakota Veterans Home in Lisbon;

- Connie Johnson, state work opportunity tax credit coordinator for Job Service North Dakota;

- Patti Mihelich, a vocational training technician with the Department of Human Services at the North Dakota Developmental Center in Grafton;

- Karen Johnson, academic assistant for accounting and information systems at North Dakota State University;


- Debra Knapper, a custodian supervisor for facilities management at NDSU; and

- Robert Barclay, heating plant manager with facilities management at NDSU.

Vogel attorneys named Best Lawyers in America

Several attorneys with the Vogel Law Firm have been selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2012 in their respective practice areas. The attorneys include:

Jerilynn Brantner Adams (family), Jon Brakke (bankruptcy and creditor debtor rights/insolvency and reorganization), Daniel Bueide (real estate), Lisa Edison-Smith (labor and employment), Mark Friese (DUI/DWI defense), Steve Johnson (corporate and mergers and acquisitions), Angie Lord (health care), Tami Norgard (environmental), Bruce Quick (criminal defense, non-white collar, criminal defense, white collar and DUI/DWI defense), William Schlossman Jr. (corporate and mergers and acquisition), Robert Udland (medical malpractice), Nicholas Vogel (employee benefits, tax and trusts and estates), Daniel Vogel (product liability litigation and professional malpractice), William Guy III (trusts and estates), H. Patrick Weir Jr. (personal injury litigation-plaintiffs), Brenda Blazer (medical malpractice), Joel Gilbertson (administrative/regulatory, government relations and insurance law), Leslie Bakken Oliver (health care) and John Petrik (corporate governance).

Shooting Star wins 10 Readers Choice awards

The Shooting Star Casino, Hotel and Event Center in Mahnomen, Minn., won 10 awards in Midwest Gaming and Travel magazine's 2011 Readers' Choice awards program.

Awards included: first place for favorite poker room, best slot attendants and best cash back; second place for most comfortable poker room, favorite casual dining restaurant (Whispering Winds) and best poker tournaments; and third place for friendliest dealers, most friendly


staff, most knowledgeable/helpful staff and best spa/health club/fitness center (Sereniitee Spa).

Credit unions receive honors for membership

Several North Dakota credit unions received honors at the state level in the Louise Herring Award for Philosophy in Action.

Those receiving awards included: first place, $250 million or more in assets, Capital Credit Union, Bismarck; $50 million to $250 million in assets, Citizens Community Credit Union, Devils Lake; and less than $50 million in assets, Postal Family Federal Credit Union, Fargo.

Second-place honors in the over $250 million in assets category went to First Community Credit Union in Jamestown.

These winners will be sent on for national judging with credit unions in their asset category.

What To Read Next
Get Local