FARGO-Three Fargo residents were among six exporters recently appointed to the North Dakota District Export Council by U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross.

Joel Jorgenson of Anderson Industries, Mapleton, N.D., Matthew Breker of Standard Alloway Industries, Fargo, and Olga Hall of RDO Equipment in Fargo have joined the board established in 1973 to support expansion activities of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Also appointed at this time were Kevin Christensen of Williston, Bruce Gjovig of Grand Forks and Kristin Hedger of Killdeer.

The North Dakota District Export Council, coupled with its 59 counterparts nationwide, is a volunteer organization drawn primarily from local businesses. DECs are comprised of seasoned exporters whose companies have been positively impacted by international sales, exporting and Foreign Direct Investment. Its members help ensure U.S. companies remain globally competitive through professional mentoring and advocacy.

New DEC members serve four-year terms and are appointed directly by the Secretary of Commerce.

DEC members leverage knowledge and relationships to improve global competitiveness, in complement to the efforts of the U.S. Commercial Service / North Dakota office, the export assistance center serving North Dakota and nine counties of northwestern Minnesota.