Chris Murphy

Murphy has covered sports in Chicago, Minnesota and North Dakota since 2009, working for The Forum since 2012. Contact: or 701-241-5548

MOORHEAD — Moorhead football coach Kevin Feeney said before the season he wanted to see his team respond to adversity better than it did last season. The Spuds had no answer for adversity on Friday in their home opener against No. 4-ranked Alexandria, as the Cardinals used a big second half to roll to a 35-13 win.
ADA, Minn. — Friday was the first football game between Ada-Borup and Barnesville since Ada played Barnesville in 1914.
MOORHEAD — Moorhead Park Christian returned to varsity football last season after forfeiting most of 2016 and all of 2017 due to low participation numbers.
GLYNDON, Minn. — Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton senior offensive lineman Carter Steen encapsulates this football season for the Rebels perfectly.
MOORHEAD — Corey Delorme has called Moorhead Spuds sports on the radio with Larry Knutson since 2000. Last season, while on a bus trip with the Moorhead boys hockey team, Spuds coach Jon Ammerman asked Delorme and Knutson if they had ever thought about livestreaming games on the web.
MOORHEAD — Last season was the first losing season for Moorhead football since the Spuds went 3-6 in 2009. The Spuds were 2-8 last season with their only two wins coming against winless Sartell-St. Stephen.
FARGO — Fargo Shanley ended last season atop North Dakota Class 2A football. The Deacons celebrated a state title, but with 15 starters from that team returning, last season their message to the rest of the state was that they were ready for Class 3A.
FARGO — The football season for Fargo Davies last year was bookended with a 29-point loss to Bismarck to open the season and a 21-point loss to eventual state champion Bismarck to close the season in the Class 3A semifinals.
FARGO — Fargo North's football team is excited to play on new artificial turf. The Spartans are excited about the new expectations on the program after making the playoffs last season for the first time since 2010.