Namedroppers (2-9-19)

Rudy Fronk was honored with the Ambassador for Peace Award from the Republic of Korea on Saturday, Feb. 2. The award is meant to honor veterans who helped restore and preserve freedom and democracy.

A group of North Dakota State College of Science students were named the winner of the 3rd Annual Red Ribbon Week Campus Video PSA Contest. Their video, “Live Your Best Life,” features a rap song written and performed by Jo Ross, of St. Paul, a second year student. The video was produced by Kerri Kava, assistant director for NDSU student life and Bethany Mauch, NDSU alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention specialist. The campus received $3,000 to support drug abuse prevention efforts.

Ishika Gupta, Fargo, and Olivia Allen, Reiles Acres, N.D., were named North Dakota’s top two youth volunteers of 2019 by the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards, a nationwide program honoring young people for outstanding acts of volunteerism. Gupta and Allen will each receive $1,000, an engraved silver medallion and an all-expense-paid trip in early May to Washington, D.C., to join the honorees from each state.

Olivia Allen was also recently named Miss Pre Prairie Rose International 2019. She will go on to compete at nationals in July for the title of Pre Teen International.

Benjamin Bryant, Fargo, was named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Des Moines Area Community College.

Skyler Manney and Brianna Mohs, Cass County, have been selected to join the North Dakota 4-H Ambassador program.

The recipients of the 2019 HOPE, Inc., Eli Johnson memorial sled hockey scholarship are Grant Boser, Keith and Riley Malvick and Jeff Muralt.

Linnea Jorgenson, Fargo, was named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Boise State University.

Joshua Johnson, Moorhead, and Clare Bath, West Fargo, were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota.

Brian Rau has been selected for induction into the state’s Aviation Hall of Fame by the North Dakota Aviation Hall of Fame committee. The ceremony will take place on Tuesday, March 5, at the Upper Midwest Aviation Symposium banquet in Bismarck.