West Fargo and Sheyenne high schools were identified in the top 10 percent of all North Dakota public high schools for students being Choice Ready. Choice Ready is a new accountability system to measure whether high schools prepare students to be ready for success upon graduation.

The 2019 North Dakota Academic All-State Teams have been selected by the North Dakota Association of Secondary School Principals (NDASSP). The high school seniors are nominated by their school principal and compete for the honor on a statewide basis in Class A and Class B divisions. Student selection is based on overall grade point averages, ACT or SAT test scores, extracurricular activities, community involvement and leadership qualities.

Kristie Qui and Signy Mastel, North High School, were selected for the gold team. Silver team nominees are Martha Denton and Benjamin Steffen, North, and Juting Shen, Irvin Chadraa, Vanessa Hellner-Born and Ishika Gupta, Davies High School. Bronze team nominees are Tate Fisher and Alexander Luz, North, Myckynzie Schroeder, Davies, Malcolm Strand and Amber Merseth, South High School. Jack Dorsher, Ameena Jovonovich, Andrea Simmons, Mya Hassebrock, Samantha Martin, Jack Binfet and Morgan Mastrud, North, and Colton Thomasson, Naiya Karl and Amber Finneseth, South, all received honorable mentions.

Gold, silver and bronze teams will receive a certificate of merit by the NDASSP as well as a medallion during a televised “Parade of Academic Champions” at the Class A Basketball Tournament in Bismarck on Friday, March 8. Honorable mentions will receive certificates of merit.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Dawson Breyer, Graysen Myers and Logan Stiening, Fargo, Megan Castor and Miah Lee, Dilworth, Minn., Anna Ames and Mallory Morris, Moorhead, and Brandon Olson, West Fargo, were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Bemidji State University.

Cees Postema, Fargo, and Abby Benusa, Moorhead, were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at St. Olaf College.

Preeti Chemiti, West Fargo, and Hanna Johnson, Colfax, N.D., were selected to serve as a delegates for the U.S. Senate Youth Program’s 57th annual Washington Week. The program brings students from across the county to Washington, D.C. to participate in an intensive week-long study of the United States government. Chemiti and Johnson will also receive a $10,000 scholarship from the Hearst Foundation.

The following students were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at University of North Dakota; from Fargo: Molly Anderson, Ryan Bjerke, Lydia Kennelly, Benjamin Maassel, Brianna Peterson, Emma Rage, Ingrid Swanson, Casandra Thompson, Joseph Wellen, Hunter Cowdrey, Claire Erickson, Erin Grenstein, Samuel Kennedy, Zohji LaCroix, Riley Nelson, Sydney Nelson, Jack Roehrich, Christiena Taralson, Carolyn Tate, Brailyn Weber, Catherine Bauske, Gabrielle Bossart, Olivia Corbid, Alexandra Crabill, Amanda Dolalie, Cloe Donarski, Tyler Dufault, Barrett Erickson, Fletcher Flanagan, Kelli Gaber, Mason Gourde, Sadie Gunderson, Trevor Hagen, Easton Hoffman, Christopher Kadlec, Thomas Laven, Alaina Lynk, Emily Malmanger, Sarah Ochsner, Jack Olson, Casey Orvedal, Kinsey Papachek, Gabriel Sandy, Jordan Schaefbauer, Page Schoer, Aaron Seefeldt, Megan Selzler, Robert Sickels, Parker Stenseth and Mandy Tran. From West Fargo: Danielle Carlson, Sherri Cote, Preston Gapp, Sofia Hansen, Cheyenne Hanson, Andrew Jahnke, Matthew Kalvoda, Elisabeth Kolb, Madison Kramer, Abi Kuznia, Macy Larson, Jocelyn Ledin-Bruen, Brett Liebl, Stacy Ploom, Bailey Riehl, Andrew Sather, Alexah Stein-McAndrew, Kaden Stewart, Alexandria Stroh, Ashlyn Trester, Izzy Waite and Keely Walker. From Moorhead: Anna Christian, Cooper Czichotzki, Michael Duginski, Jacob Halvorson, Kimberly Harmelink, Mallory Smith and Erin Stadstad.

The following students were named to the president’s roll of honor for the 2018 fall semester at the University of North Dakota; from Fargo: Molly Anderson, Ryan Bjerke, Austin Burud, Delton Gabel, Madison Naylor, Brianna Peterson, Joseph Wellen, Tiffany Barth, Heidi Bertsch, Erin Grensteiner, Bailey Hoffman, Riley Nelson, Nicole Sinclair, Brailyn Weber, Momina Chaudhry, Sydney Dallman, Fletcher Flanagan, Kelli Gaber, Mason Gourde, Sadie Gunderson, Thomas Laven, Alaina Lynk, Macey McManus, Jamie Nelson, Sarah Ochsner, Aaron Seefeldt, Robert Sickels and Huanan Tao. From Moorhead: Anna Christian, Cooper Czichotzki, Jacob Halvorson, Kimberly Harmelink and Mallory Smith. From West Fargo: Ivy Berogan, Julia Fischer, Cheyenne Hanson, Andrew Jahnke, Alexia Jamieson, Sabrina Koch, Madison Kramer, Macy Larson, Alia Negron, Makenna Peters, Malea Peters, Stacy Ploom, Andrew Sather and Ashlyn Trester.

Special to the Forum
Special to the Forum

Alex Rossow / Special to the Forum
Alex Rossow / Special to the Forum

Fargo South High School student Allison Rheault and Kindred High School student Alex Rossow received the Bank of North Dakota Real DEAL Scholarship in the amount of $500 to attend a North Dakota college. They also qualify to be one of 48 applicants to compete for a $3,000 scholarship that will be awarded in the spring of 2019.

U.S. Air Force National Guard Airman Jenna L. Beck, West Fargo, graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland in San Antonio, Texas. Beck completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness and basic warfare principles and skills. Airmen who complete basic training also earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.