Ruth Buffalo was honored and recognized as a Woman PeaceMaker by the University of San Diego’s Kroc Institute of Peace and Justice. Buffalo is the first ever Woman PeaceMaker from the United States. Buffalo is a political healer, community organizer, public health professional and educator, and the first Native American Democratic woman elected to the North Dakota Legislature. She will participate in a six-week program, learning from the other women honored.

Kenny Fowler won the Roger Kerns character award as part of the 2019 Special Olympics North Dakota Banquet in Fargo, Oct. 26. Fowler has been in Special Olympics for 14 years and has participated in basketball, snow shoeing, soccer, bocce, volleyball and track and field. Fowler is a member of the Special Olympics Athlete Focus Group in Fargo.

Fargo Board of Education members Jennifer Benson and Robin Nelson were recognized with NDSBA service awards. Benson received the Veteran Board Member Award and Robin received the Master Board Member Award. Both awards were designated “with distinction” because both Benson and Nelson have participated in national activities.

Cory Flaa, a graduate of Fargo South High School, has been named recipient of the Catherine Larson Endowed Nursing Scholarship at Bethany Retirement Living. He will receive $500 to apply toward his nursing education costs for the 2019-20 academic year. He is currently enrolled in the RN/Bachelor of Science in Nursing program at Minnesota State University Moorhead.

Kristi Engelstad from F-M Ambulance in Clay and Cass counties, was honored with the Emergency Medical and Trauma Services Star Award for extensive outreach and education efforts including the “Buckle up with Bucky” seat-belt safety program for children.