Prantik Roy Chowdhury of Fargo was a recent graduate of Northern Illinois University in August. Chowdhury earned a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering.

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring.The following students from Davies High School were announced as semifinalists: Olivia Drake, Emily Gao, Kareem Kamel, Max Pritchard and Ava Selvig. In addition, Jordan Engebretson and Sylvia Schwantes of Fargo North were named. From Oak Grove High School, Ethan Kessler was named a semifinalist, while Jake Fox, Madison Hokstad and Anna Robinette of Fargo South were announced as semifinalists.

Emma Pranger and Lila Stanley, both of Moorhead High School were recently announced as semifinalists of the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The City of Dilworth announced the Volunteers of the Year. These volunteers will be formally recognized over Zoom at the September 14th City Council meeting.

  • Elizabeth Janssen with the Girl Scouts

  • Dan Bentley with the Boy Scouts

  • Jean Hansen with the Loco Lions

  • Beth McManus with St. Elizabeths

  • Michelle Swenson with St. Elizabeths

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Leah Juelke, Fargo South High School teacher, has been named a top 10 finalist for the Varkey Foundation Global Teacher Prize 2020. Juelke was selected from more than 12,000 nominations from over 140 countries and is now up for a $1 million award. The Global Teacher Prize will be announced at a virtual ceremony that is expected to be held on Dec. 3, 2020.