SUBSCRIBE NOW Get a year of news PLUS a gift box!



Bishop resigns from Diocese of New Ulm for health reasons

Pope Francis has accepted the resignation of Bishop John M. LeVoir. He is retiring due to health concerns.

#551 Bishop John M. LeVoir.jpg
Bishop John M. LeVoir
We are part of The Trust Project.

NEW ULM, Minn. — The Most Rev. John M. LeVoir has resigned as bishop of the Diocese of New Ulm due to health reasons, the diocese announced.

Pope Francis accepted his resignation, effective Thursday, Aug. 6.

Bishop LeVoir, 74, has served as the bishop of New Ulm since his appointment on July 14, 2008. A typical retirement age for a bishop is 75, according to the news release from the diocese.

Since early July, LeVoir has been undergoing a physical and psychological assessment at Sacred Heart Mercy Health Care Center in Alma, Michigan, operated by the Religious Sisters of Mercy. He will remain in Alma until early September to undertake a therapy plan.


LeVoir said in the news release that the last years have been very challenging for the diocese and the life of the Church, but that it has been a privilege to have served the faithful. He called it both a great honor and enriching experience to come to know the people of the diocese “and their love for Jesus Christ, their willingness to share their Catholic faith, and their concern for the less fortunate.”

The search for a replacement will begin immediately, a process run primarily by the Vatican, according to the diocese's announcement. The College of Consultors will appoint a diocesan administrator until a new bishop is appointed. The administrator will be elected from the active priests of the diocese and must be at least 35 years of age.

A native of Minneapolis, LeVoir was ordained a priest for the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis in 1981. He was serving as pastor at the Church of St. Michael and the Church of St. Mary in Stillwater, Minn., when Pope Benedict XVI appointed him on July 14, 2008, as the fourth bishop of New Ulm.

Established on Nov. 18, 1957, the Diocese of New Ulm consists of 15 counties in south and west central Minnesota: Big Stone, Brown, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Nicollet, Redwood, Renville, Sibley, Swift and Yellow Medicine, a total of 9,863 square miles. It encompasses nearly 50,933 Catholics in 61 parishes served by 35 assigned priests and 19 permanent deacons. There are 13 Catholic elementary schools and three Catholic high schools.

Map of Diocese of New Ulm

Map of Diocese of New Ulm

Related Topics: FAITH
What to read next
The International P.E.O. Sisterhood is a philanthropic and educational organization interested in bringing increased opportunities for higher education to women.
Paramount Sports and Great Northern Bicycle Company have noticed an increase in business amid high gas prices.
"Fielding Questions" columnist Don Kinzler also answers questions about taller clumps of grass and the best time to trim a maple tree.
"Did You Know That" columnist Curt Eriksmoen concludes the story of Bishop William Walker.