Namedroppers (April 25, 2020)

Namedroppers logo image fsa.jpg

Kenneth David of Concordia College in Moorhead has been selected as a Goldwater Scholar for the 2020-2021 academic year. The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation recently announced the 396 recipients from across the United States. David, a junior neuroscience major from Park Rapids, Minn., plans on a career in neuroscience research.

Three honorees from Concordia College have been announced as winners of the 2020 Presidents’ Engaged Campus Awards from Iowa & Minnesota Campus Compact (IAMNCC). Senior Abigayle Reese received the Student Leadership Award; Dr. Joan Kopperud, professor of English, received the Civic Engagement Leadership Award; and the Concordia Science Academy, coordinated by Dr. Graeme Wyllie, was honored with the Community Partner Award.

Joanna Lin of Fargo, a Davies High School senior, and Jacob Shelver, a senior at Fargo North High School are two of seven North Dakota high school seniors who were named as semi finalists for Presidential Scholar honors. The seven students were picked from a group of 65 North Dakota Presidential Scholar nominees. In early May, one male and one female student from among the group will be chosen as North Dakota’s Presidential Scholars for 2020.

Kali Berlinger, a junior at Minnesota State University Moorhead, and Micayla Bitz, a sophomore at Concordia College each have been awarded $500 scholarships from North Dakota Professional Communicators to assist in their academic endeavors in the future. Each received a $500 Marion J. Piper Scholarship.The award is named in honor of a longtime NDPC member who died in 1969.

What To Read Next
Get Local