Nearly 1,300 Squirts start facing off today to determine the best of the best.

Pucks drop for the 21st annual Squirt International Hockey Tournament at 8 a.m., with hockey players taking the ice at 10 rinks in the metro area.

This year's tournament features 80 teams - 48 "A" Division teams and 32 "B" Division teams of 10- and 11-year-olds.

Teams from North Dakota, Minnesota, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Carolina, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin and three Canadian provinces will compete throughout the weekend.

All are vying for the International Cup in the competition referred to as the "best of the best" squirt tournament.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

The championship game is at 2 p.m. Sunday at Fargo's John E. Carlson Coliseum, 807 17th Ave. N.

The Fargo Flyers International Tournament Committee is sponsoring the tournament.