FARGO – Four graduates and two former faculty members will be inducted into the North High School Hall of Fame this year.

The inductees will be introduced during a school pep fest at 2:30 p.m. Sept. 25 in the Spartandome and again during halftime of the homecoming football game later that evening. The induction luncheon and ceremony starts at noon Sept. 26 at the North Dakota State University Alumni Center.

Tickets for the luncheon are $15 per person and may be purchased at the North High office or by calling (701) 446-2405. Tickets must be purchased by Monday.

The inductees are:

• John Oxton, Class of 1979. He has been a teacher for 31 years, working in Wilsall and Gardiner, Mont., and spending the last 25 years in Lakeville, Minn. He's also coached football and basketball, including 29 years as a head coach in basketball. One of his teams won the 1989 Class C State Championship in Montana, and he was named the Montana State Coach of the Year. In Lakeville, his team won the Minnesota State Class AAAA Championship in 2015, again earning him state Coach of the Year honors. At North, he was part of the 1977 state championship basketball team.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

• Granis Stewart, class of 1979. She attended NDSU and St. Luke's School of Nursing in Fargo and became a registered nurse. She attended Smith College in Northhampton, Mass., earning a bachelor's degree in anthropology in 1993. She completed a bachelor's degree program in nursing this year and works at Tufts Medical Center in Boston. Her love of outdoors pursuits led her to being inducted into the Explorer's Club in 2006.

• Jarret Brachman, Class of 1996. He earned a bachelor's degree in government from Augustana College in Sioux Falls, S.D., in 2000, and master's and doctoral degrees in political science at the University of Delaware. He has worked as a fellow at the Central Intelligence Agency, and taught at the University of Delaware, New York University and the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y., where he was also director of research for the Combatting Terrorism Center. He has also been managing director of Cronus Global LLC and authored the book, "Global Jihadism: Theory and Practice." More recently, Brachman wa a security program coordinator at NDSU and an associate research fellow with the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute.

• Sean Hoffman, class of 1996. He was an outstanding three-sport athlete at North, active in football, hockey and track and field. In football, he earned all-conference and all-state honors three times and was selected Gatorade Player of the Year in 1995. Hoffman was a two-year captain and member of the 1995 state championship team. In hockey, he was captain for two seasons, was selected all-state for two years and was a Mr. Hockey finalist. He played football and earned a speech communication degree at the University of Minnesota. In football, he earned All-Big Ten honors in 2000. He is a financial adviser.

• Marianna Malm, retired faculty. Malm graduated from high school in Minot, N.D., and earned an education degree in English from Minot State University and a master's degree in reading from Minnesota State University Moorhead, before starting her teaching career in Williston, N.D. She and her husband moved in 1975 to Fargo, where she taught at NDSU for two years before being hired to teach English at North High in 1977. She retired in 2010. She was honored by the North Dakota Council of Teachers of English and the YWCA's Women of the Year program for her work in education. She was adviser for the Spartacas, which won five straight state titles, and she was selected for the North Dakota Danceline Hall of Fame. She was North Dakota Teacher of the Year in 2000. In 2010, she received a Distinguished Teacher Award from the White House.

• Carl Oberholtzer, retired faculty. He graduated from Fargo South High in 1970, then attended NDSU, earning bachelor's and master's degrees. He taught and coached in Hettinger, N.D., and Wahpeton, N.D., before joining the staff at North in fall 1990. He taught at North until retiring in 2008. He was a James Madison Fellow in 1995, a U.S. Presidential Scholar Award Teacher in 2003, and Gilder-Lehrman American North Dakota History Teacher of the Year in 2006. He was North Teacher of the Year in 2008. He founded the Socrates Club at North and coached football, volleyball and track and field. His teams won three state volleyball titles, and he was named the state Volleyball Coach of the Year in 1996. Since retiring, he has taught at MSUM and NDSU; and co-wrote and co-produced the Emmy Award-winning film, "Road to Little Rock".