BISMARCK – A panel has recommended three finalists for appointment to the state Board of Higher Education, including current board vice chairman Don Morton of Fargo, who is seeking a second four-year term.

The nominating committee also recommended Bismarck environmental engineer Thomas Atkinson and Wayne Trottier Jr. of Rugby, who works part time as the school superintendent in Sawyer, according to a news release from the Department of Public Instruction.

Gov. Jack Dalrymple will decide on the appointments. His choices will be eligible to serve on the board until early next year, when the state Senate will vote to confirm or reject the appointments.

Morton’s term ends June 30.

The board oversees the 11-campus North Dakota University System.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Kirsten Baesler chairs the nominating committee, which also includes House Speaker Wes Belter, R-Fargo, Senate President Pro Tempore Robert Erbele, R-Lehr, North Dakota United President Nick Archuleta and Supreme Court Chief Justice Gerald VandeWalle.