BISMARCK — Gov. Doug Burgum and First Lady Kathryn Burgum have awarded 17 grants to the winners of North Dakota’s first-ever Youth Ending Stigma (YES) Challenge.

The YES Challenge is a collaborative effort between the Office of the Governor, Office of the First Lady and the Office of Recovery Reinvented. The challenge is designed to enable student-led initiatives and projects focused on eliminating social stigma surrounding behavioral health issues including addiction and mental illness.

The winners of the Youth Ending Stigma Challenge include:

  • Bismarck Century High School.

  • Central Cass Schools.

  • Dakota Prairie High School.

  • Grafton Schools.

  • Grand Forks Youth Commission.

  • Hanna Johnson with the Fargo-Moorhead West Fargo Chamber Young. Entrepreneurship Academy.

  • Izzy Garcia with the Sinner-Bresnahan Foundation.

  • Langdon High School.

  • Liberty Middle School.

  • Mandaree High School.

  • Midkota High School.

  • Nedrose Schools.

  • Northern Cass High School.

  • Rolette High School.

  • South Prairie High School.

  • Turtle Mountain Youth Council.