Fargo North student named Presidential Scholar

InForum News Brief FSA

FARGO — U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos announced the 2020 class of U.S. Presidential Scholars on Thursday, May 21, including one from Fargo and two others from North Dakota.

Jacob Shelver of Fargo North High School was one of the North Dakota selections. Hanna Johnson of Richland High School and Gareth Jiarui Wu from Grand Forks Central High School were also selected.

They were part of 161 high school seniors recognized. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2020 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer, as public health circumstances permit.

A complete list of 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available at .

What To Read Next
Get Local