Fargo adds 2 district court judges

Grand Forks also will add a judge.

A courtroom gavel

FARGO — Fargo’s judicial district will get two new judges, according to a news release from the North Dakota Supreme Court.

The Judicial Nominating Committee is accepting applications for two judgeships for the East Central Judicial District chambered in Fargo. The Northeast Central Judicial District, based in Grand Forks, also will add a judge, the release said.

The state Legislature voted this year to add three judges in North Dakota as part of budgeting for the judicial branch in House Bill 1002.

Fargo currently has nine judges, while Grand Forks has five.

Applications and statement of interest forms can be sent to . The deadline is 3 p.m. on Tuesday, June 6.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local