BISMARCK — Nearly 70 people applied to serve on North Dakota's new ethics commission, Gov. Doug Burgum's office said Saturday, May 25.

The five commissioners will be selected by consensus agreement of the governor and the Senate's majority and minority leaders. Officials have said they hope to have the members in place by July 1, the start of a new two-year budget cycle.

The application deadline was Friday.

The panel was etched into the state's constitution with the passage of Measure 1 last year. The commission will be able to write rules on transparency, corruption, elections and lobbying as well as investigate allegations of wrongdoing.

Senate leaders have said they're looking for "open-minded" and apolitical commissioners. They'll be invited to confer with lawmakers during an interim study before the 2021 legislative session.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Here are the 68 people who applied for the ethics commission. One additional person applied but withdrew from consideration and isn't included on the list. The applicants have not been screened for eligibility.

David Anderson, Bismarck; Roben Anderson, West Fargo; Sandy Bahl, Minot; Stephen Baird, Moorhead; Brandon Bitner, Bismarck; Dana Brandenburg, Jud; Dan Brosz, Bowman; Ron Carlson, Minnewaukan; Kenneth Christianson, Fargo; Warren Colby, Voltaire; Michael Connor, Devils Lake; Duane DeKrey, Carrington; David Drovdal, Bismarck; Calvin Dupree, Jamestown; Dalton Erickson, Grand Forks; Tim Flakoll, Fargo; Marilyn Foss, Bismarck; Ronald Frigstad, Fargo; Donald Frye, Jamestown; Daniel Fuller, West Fargo; Renae Gall, Bismarck; Dustin Gawrylow, Bismarck; Scott Giere, Lincoln; Eliot Glassheim, Grand Forks; Ronald Goodman, Oakes; Alison Graham-Bertolini, Fargo; Robert Hale, Minot; Karen Hilfer, Mandan; Amy Ingersoll-Johnson, Bismarck; Carol Isaak, Bismarck; Richard Jensen, Fargo; Mark Johnson, Fargo; Jerry Jurena, Bismarck; Ronald Jyring, Bismarck; James Keller, Elgin; Shawn Kirsch, Bismarck; David Klein, Jamestown; William Knudson, Mandan; Edwin Koeser, Williston; Maggie Kohls, Bismarck; Aaron Krauter, West Fargo; Sandra Kuntz, Dickinson; Clarice Liechty, Jamestown; Cynthia Lindquist, Devils Lake; Michael McNair, Fargo; Luther Meberg, Park River; Shirley Meyer, Dickinson; Adam Miller, Mandan; Papa Ndaw, Fargo; Benjamin Parker, Minot; William Patrie, Bismarck; Steven Poeckes, Zahl; Paul Richard, Fargo; Jeffrey Risk, Minot; Adrian Rozelle, Grand Forks; Michael Sasser, Minot; Perrie Schafer, Mandan; Lee Schwartz, Fargo; Cindy Schwehr, Rogers; Ann Sears, Devils Lake; Jonathan Sickler, Grand Forks; Gordy Smith, Bismarck; Linda Steve, Dickinson; Gregory Stites, Bismarck; Paul Stremick, Walhalla; Thomas Trenbeath, Bismarck; Carel Two-Eagle, Wilton; Diane Zander, Minot