FARGO – A state senator who represents one of Fargo’s legislative districts will not seek re-election this year.

Sen. Jonathan Casper, R-Fargo, announced Monday, Feb. 19, that he won’t run for re-election.

“I appreciate the trust the people of District 27 placed in me to serve them in the State Senate,” he said in a statement. “It has been an honor.”

The attorney was elected to his first term in the Senate in 2014. He served on the Judiciary and Transportation committees, as well as the Industry, Business and Labor committee.

The Democratic-NPL Party endorsed its candidates for District 27 earlier this month, selecting Quinn Garrick as the Senate candidate and Ruth Buffalo and Jon Kitzman for the House.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

District 27, which includes south Fargo, Horace, Frontier, Briarwood and Stanley, had an all-Republican delegation during the 2017 legislative session, including Casper in the Senate and Reps. Thomas Beadle and Randy Boehning in the House.

Earlier this year, Kristin Roers said she will seek the GOP nomination for the House from District 27. Beadle and Boehning have not yet formally announced their plans.