GRAND FORKS - Democrat Kylie Oversen and Republican incumbent Ryan Rauschenberger will each be moving on to the 2018 general election for state tax commissioner.

Rauschenberger, who has been tax commissioner since 2014, collected 99.3 percent of the vote with 397 of 424 precincts reporting in incomplete and unofficial results from the state’s primary election Tuesday, June 12. He was the only Republican running for the position and had 54,796 votes on his primary ticket with almost all of the votes counted..

Oversen, who currently serves as the head of the North Dakota Democratic-NPL party and previously was a state representative from Grand Forks, received 99.8 percent of the vote. She was also the only Democrat running for the position and had 30,896 votes as of 11:30 p.m.

There were a total of 411 write-in votes for the position as of 11:30 p.m. Tuesday, 36 for the Democratic ticket and 375 for the Republican ticket.

The tax commissioner office oversees six divisions dealing with tax law, revenue collection and fiscal management, among others. The tax commissioner has a four-year term in North Dakota and is up for election during midterm election years.

The tax commissioner is also the only statewide elected official serving on North Dakota's Legacy Fund advisory board, which oversees how the fund's dollars are invested.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live