FARGO — Democrats in districts 44 and 16 endorsed candidates this weekend to run for the North Dakota Legislature.

Sen. Merrill Piepkorn and Reps. Josh Boschee and Karla Rose Hanson will all seek reelection in November for four-year terms representing District 44, which covers parts of northeast Fargo.

Piepkorn and Hanson will face their first bid for reelection. Boschee, who unsuccessfully ran for secretary of state against incumbent Al Jaeger in 2018, has been in the House since 2013.

So far, no Republicans have filed to run against the three. The Republican Party may nominate District 44 candidates on Thursday, Feb. 20, at the United Republican Committee Combined Convention.

District 16 Democrats picked Kari Breker of Fargo to challenge Republican Sen. David Clemens of West Fargo, who will face his first reelection. Democrats also endorsed Hamida Dakane and Tracey Wilkie, two Fargo residents, who will challenge Reps. Ben Koppelman of West Fargo and Andrew Marschall of Fargo. Koppelman has been in the House since 2013, while Marschall was first elected in 2017.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

The GOP endorsed its District 16 candidates on Thursday, Feb. 13, in Fargo.