MOORHEAD — Eight people had filed to run for Moorhead City Council in the November general election, as of Wednesday afternoon, Aug. 5.

The latest candidates to file included Laura Caroon, who is running for the Ward 2 seat, and Kristine Thompson, who is seeking the Ward 1 seat.

Heidi Durand, who represents Ward 2 in the south-central part of the city, had not filed to run for reelection, as of Wednesday. Sara Watson Curry, who holds the Ward 1 seat in the northern part of Moorhead, is not seeking reelection.

Filings remain open until 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 11, in the city clerk's office at City Hall or online. The filing fee is $5.

Thompson served on the Moorhead School Board from 1998 to 2013, and she is currently chairwoman of the Moorhead Public Service Commission.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Alexa Dixson-Griggs has also filed for the Ward 1 race. She is a social worker with the Lakes and Prairies Community Action Partnership, where she's coordinator of economic empowerment programs.

Besides Thompson and Dixson-Griggs, others who have filed for the Ward 1 seat include: Ryan Jensen, Matt Gilbertson and Quindlynn Overland.

Larry Seljevold, who represents Ward 3 in the southwestern part of the city, has filed for reelection, as has Steve Lindaas, who represents Ward 4 in the southeastern part of the city.