MOORHEAD — Six residents will be in the running to fill a vacant seat on the Moorhead City Council.

With filings closed, six residents in Ward 2 have filled out applications to serve on the council.

The City Council will interview candidates publicly and select the new member, as provided in the City Charter, likely later this month or in early May.

Three candidates filed on Wednesday, March 31, the last day to apply, to join three others who had applied earlier.

The three latest candidates are David Marquardt, Michael Hajostek and Heather Nesemeier.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

Marquardt, a former teacher and current field consultant for North Dakota United, said he is running to help the city attract more businesses and offer support to those existing here, pursue a possible indoor fitness and health facility for the city, see more development along the Red River and make sure those affected by COVID-19 receive the help they need from new federal dollars.

Hajostek, a software developer, and Nesemeier, who works in the online learning department at Minnesota State University Moorhead, didn't immediately return phone messages.

The candidates announced earlier were health care logistics technician Lillian Guetter, multimedia lead for a local foundation Evan Balko and retired nurse Gail Enkers.

Guetter said she keeps "close tabs" on candidacies, which has led her to believe she is the first transgender person in the Fargo-Moorhead metro area to seek a public office at the city, county or state level.

The winning candidate selected will replace Shelly Carlson, who was selected by the City Council to serve as mayor and replace Jonathan Judd, leaving a Ward 2 seat open. Judd was appointed a district court judge by Gov. Tim Walz, and the city charter calls for the City Council to select a mayor from its ranks if an opening occurs.

Laura Caroon is the other council member from Ward 2 and was elected to a four-year term last November.

Ward 2, in the south-central part of the city, is east of 11th Street, south of Main Avenue and north of Interstate 94.

The new member will serve until the November 2022 election, as will Carlson.