MOORHEAD — The six applicants for a vacant seat on the Moorhead City Council will be interviewed by the council at its meeting on Monday night, April 12, in what is a fairly rare process to filling a seat.

The candidates for the opening in the Second Ward, which primarily covers the south-central part of the city, will be seated in front of the council at the meeting. Mayor Shelly Carlson will ask each of the six candidates questions with one-minute answers.

After the questioning, the six candidates will be allowed two minutes to present closing statements.

The six who applied are multimedia lead for a local foundation Evan Balko, retired nurse Gail Enkers, health care logistics technician Lillian Guetter, software developer Michael Hajostek, former teacher and current field consultant for North Dakota United David Marquardt and Minnesota State University Moorhead online learning team member Heather Nesemeier.

The council will then deliberate and discuss the candidates to fill the vacancy, which opened up after the full council appointed Carlson to mayor following Johnathan Judd's appointment to be a district court judge. That opened up the vacancy for Carlson's seat in the Second Ward.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

The plan is to then vote and select the new council member at the next City Council meeting on April 26., with the new member officially sworn in at the council's May 10 meeting.

The candidate with the majority of the votes of the other eight members of the council will fill the seat and serve until Dec. 31, 2022. It's a process that is outlined in the City Charter.

After two other recent resignations from the City Council in Moorhead, the council decided to wait until the next election to fill the seats rather than make an appointment.

However, this time the council decided to fill the seat. The new council member will face election in November 2022 if they decide to run for a four-year term, as will Carlson.

Laura Caroon is the other council member from the Second Ward and was elected to a four-year term last November.

The Second Ward is east of 11th Street, south of Main Avenue and north of Interstate 94.