3 North Dakota students named presidential scholars

A total of 161 scholars were honored this year.

FSA FNS Forum News Service Brief.jpg

BISMARCK — Three North Dakota high school seniors have been named U.S. Presidential Scholars for 2023.

The seniors are:

  • Srinath B. Kandooru, Century High School in Bismarck
  • Annelise Klein, Century High School in Bismarck
  • Kaylee Mae Kirkeby, Central High School in Grand Forks (recognized as a Presidential Scholar in career and technical education)

In Minnesota, two seniors received the honor:

  • Stavya Arora, Maple Grove Senior High School
  • Matthew Chen, Wayzata High School

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group appointed by the president, makes the final selections. Scholars are picked based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, and community service and leadership.
The 2023 Presidential Scholars are made up of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 scholars chosen at-large, 20 in the arts, and 20 in career and technical education. 

A total of 161 scholars were honored this year. For a complete list, visit .

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local