Thirteen candidates vie for four seats on Fargo School Board

Fargo Public Schools office building
Thirteen people, including four incumbents, are running for the Fargo School Board in the June 9 election. Dave Olson/The Forum

FARGO — Thirteen people are running for four seats on the Fargo School Board in the June 9 election.

The list became final Monday, April 6, with the closing of the candidacy filing period.

The field of candidates includes incumbents Brandi Aune, Jim Johnson, John Rodenbiker and Kristi Ulrich.

Challengers on the ballot include: Eric Evenson, Nikkie Gullickson, Seth Holden, Victoria Johnson, Robin Kee, Jenaah McLeod-Hanson, Tracie Newman, Stacey Piechowski and Mary Schultz.

Victoria Johnson announced her candidacy Tuesday, April 7, with a statement that provided some background.


Originally from Uganda, she attended Fargo Public Schools and graduated from Fargo South High School.

She has two children attending Fargo Public Schools; one is in general education and one is in special education.

A family support advocate and founder of a grassroots organization called Families United for Advocacy, Johnson also has a background in business management, leadership and health care.

As a school board member, Johnson said she would focus on student achievement, graduation rate and establishing relationships between the board and district workers.

The school board election will be conducted by Cass County and will be handled entirely through mail-in ballots.

I'm a reporter and a photographer and sometimes I create videos to go with my stories.

I graduated from Minnesota State University Moorhead and in my time with The Forum I have covered a number of beats, from cops and courts to business and education.

I've also written about UFOs, ghosts, dinosaur bones and the planet Pluto.

You may reach me by phone at 701-241-5555, or by email at
What To Read Next
Get Local