MOORHEAD — Starting tomorrow, it will be illegal for people to use their hands to operate a phone while behind the wheel in Minnesota.
Under a new Minnesota law, drivers using their hands to operate their phones for any reason other than calling 911 can be fined $50. After court fees, the total cost of the first offense can add up to $130. Subsequent offenses are $275 plus court fees.
Drivers can still make calls, listen to music and get directions with their phones as long as they connect with Bluetooth, use voice commands or use single-touch activation.
Joe Hanson with Gadget Garage, an electronics repair shop on 13th Avenue South in Fargo, said drivers have many options for operating a phone hands-free.
"That's really the way to go. Then you don't have to mess with your phone at all, it comes through the dash and everything," Hanson said.
If you don't have Bluetooth you can get a car mount instead, he said. There are different types of mounts available that can stick to a vehicle's window, the dashboard and vents.
The price of the mounts can range from $5 to $30 or more, depending on the model.