Walz announces disaster assistance for 8 counties

Assistance is in response to severe summer storms

InForum News Brief FSA

ST. PAUL — Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz has authorized state disaster assistance in response to severe summer storms for eight Minnesota counties including Cass, Itasca and Norman, a press release from the governor's office announced.

Assistance for Cass, Itasca and Norman counties stems from severe storms between Aug. 13 and Aug. 14.

Additionally, assistance is being provided for Sibley, Renville and Nicollet for severe thunderstorms between July 25 and July 27, and Goodhue and Yellow Medicine counties for a strong storm system with high winds and heavy rainfall on Aug. 8.

In the release, Walz designated Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Director Joe Kelly as his authorized representative to do the following:

  • Allocate such amounts as he finds necessary for state disaster assistance from funds available for these purposes.

  • Provide public assistance in the designated area.

  • Provide additional assistance if requested by a local government and warranted by the results of further damage assessments, to the extent allowable under Minnesota Statute 12B.

What To Read Next
Get Local