GRAND FORKS — With extreme fire risk conditions across North Dakota and northwest Minnesota, the National Weather Service has issued a Red Flag Warning from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Minnesota counties affected include Becker, Clay, Clearwater, Kittson, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau and Wilkin counties.

The entire state of North Dakota is under the warning, as is north-central and northeast South Dakota.

A Red Flag Warning means the area is experiencing critical weather conditions that are ideal for wildfire, including strong winds and low humidity. Do not burn while the Red Flag Warning remains in effect and check any burning done recently to ensure the fire is out. Any spark could become a wildfire under Red Flag conditions.

Stay connected, stay safe:

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts