FARGO-In honor of its longtime play-by-play broadcaster Scott Miller, the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks baseball organization announced today that its press box at Newman Outdoor Field will be dedicated as the "Scott Miller Press Box" on opening night of the 2016 season.

Miller, 57, passed away Thursday after a nearly four-year battle with cancer.

Miller became the voice of the RedHawks in 2006 and called 10 seasons including the Northern League championships in 2006, 2009 and 2010.

"Scott was a gentleman and an immense talent in the radio booth," said RedHawks chairman of the board Bruce Thom. "We are proud honor his memory and dedication to the RedHawks by naming the press box for him. He spent many hours there bringing baseball to our fans through the radio and it's a fitting tribute to his legacy with our organization."

RedHawks president and CEO Brad Thom said: "We were blessed to have Scott in our lives. He was the best broadcaster in independent baseball and an amazing representative of RedHawks Baseball. This community, the RedHawks and everyone who heard Scott call a game knew that they would have an unbiased view from his broadcasts."

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

RedHawks manager Doug Simunic said: "It's a huge loss for RedHawks fans and our organization. He was as professional as one could be in his approach to the job, and someone I respected and enjoyed working with. I will miss him and I know our fans will miss him."

RedHawks vice president and general manager Josh Buchholz said: "It was an honor to work with Scott for ten seasons with the RedHawks. He was a true professional in his approach to the job and a kind, loyal friend. He fought to the end and will be dearly missed by all our current and former players, staff and fans."

Miller was a long-time sports broadcaster in Fargo-Moorhead and was also the play-by-play voice of the North Dakota State University Bison football and basketball teams. He was twice awarded the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Broadcaster of the Year, last in 2011. He called all five of NDSU's FCS National Championship games from 2011-2015 and the Bison NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament teams in 2009, 2014 and 2015.