SIOUX FALLS, S.D. — North Dakota State seniors Vinnie Shahid and Tyson Ward were voted to the All-Summit League first team for men’s basketball, the league office announced Thursday.

It was the first time since Taylor Braun and Marshall Bjorklund in 2014 that the Bison earned a pair of first-team All-Summit League honorees.

Shahid averaged 20.9 points and 3.6 assists in league play, shooting 94 percent from the free throw line. He finished third in the league in scoring and fifth in assists. Shahid topped 19 points in 12 of 16 Summit League games.

Ward averaged 19.1 points, 6.9 rebounds, and 2.9 assists in Summit League play, shooting 59 percent overall and 49 percent from three-point range in conference games. He finished fifth in the league in scoring and was one of only two players to rank in the league’s top 10 in scoring, rebounding and assists.

NDSU’s Michelle Gaislerova received honorable mention votes for the All-Summit League women’s basketball team. Bison freshman Ryan Cobbins was named to the Summit’s all-newcomer team.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live


First team: Vinnie Shahid, Sr., NDSU; Tyson Ward, Sr., NDSU; Tyler Hagedorn, Sr., South Dakota; Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts, Sr.; Marlon Stewart, Sr., North Dakota; Douglas Wilson, Jr., South Dakota State.

Second team: Deondre Burns, Sr., Oral Roberts; Matt Dentlinger, Soph., South Dakota State; Ade Murkey, Sr., Denver; Stanley Umude, Jr., South Dakota; Kobe Webster, Jr., Western Illinois.

Honorable mention: Noah Freidel, Fr., South Dakota State; Jarred Godrey, Soph., Purdue-Fort Wayne; Matt Pile, Jr., Omaha; Filip Rebraca, Soph., North Dakota; KJ Robinson, Sr., Omaha.

All-newcomer team: Max Abmas, Fr., Oral Roberts; Deonte Billups, Fr., Purdue-Fort Wayne; Deondre Burns, Fr., Oral Roberts; Noah Freidel, Fr., South Dakota State; Douglas Wilson, Jr., South Dakota State.

Player of the year: Douglas Wilson, South Dakota State.

Defensive player of the year: Matt Pile, Omaha.

Sixth man of the year: Marlon Ruffin, Omaha.

Freshman of the year: Noah Freidel, South Dakota State.

Newcomer of the year: Douglas Wilson, South Dakota State.

Coach of the year: Eric Henderson, South Dakota State


First team: Paiton Burckhard, South Dakota State; Ciara Duffy, South Dakota; Olivia Kaufmann, Western Illinois; Keni Jo Lippe, Oral Roberts; Madison Nelson, Denver; Hannah Sjerven, South Dakota.

Second team: Julia Fleecs, North Dakota; Chloe Lamb, South Dakota; Tagyn Larson, South Dakota State; Lauren Loven, Denver; Mariah Murdie, Omaha.

Honorable mention: Michelle Gaislerove, NDSU; Montserrat Brotons, Oral Roberts; Taylor Fredericks, South Dakota; Madison McKeever, South Dakota; Rylie Torrey, Oral Roberts.

All-newcomer team: Ryan Cobbins, NDSU; Jentry Holt, Oral Roberts; Tori Nelson, South Dakota State; Riley Ott, Purdue-Fort Wayne; Evan Zars, Western Illinois.

Player of the year: Ciara Duffy, South Dakota

Defensive player of the year: Hannah Sjerven, South Dakota

Sixth woman of the year: Taylor Frederick, South Dakota

Freshman of the year: Evan Zars, Western Illinois

Newcomer of the year: Tori Nelson, South Dakota State

Coach of the year: Dawn Plitzuweit, South Dakota