Bison QB Stick invited to Payton Award announcement

NDSU senior joins two other quarterbacks in final three for top offensive player in FCS

Easton Stick of North Dakota State looks to pass against Montana State during their NCAA FCS second-round playoff football game Saturday, Dec. 1, 2018, in Fargo. Michael Vosburg / Forum Photo Editor

North Dakota State senior quarterback Easton Stick is one of three players invited to the announcement of the Walter Payton Award winner, which goes to the outstanding offensive player in the Football Championship Subdivision. The award is given by STATS FCS, a web site that covers the division.

Stick is joined by fellow senior quarterbacks Devlin Hodges of Samford and Chandler Burks of Kennesaw State. The award will be presented to the winner at the STATS FCS awards banquet Jan. 4, 2019, in Frisco, Texas on the even of the national championship game.

STATS FCS made the announcement via Twitter and on its website.

Stick ranks second in FCS history for wins by a quarterback with 46, trailing former Bison Brock Jensen's 48. Stick is third in the nation in passing efficiency (167.4) and has accounted for 2,585 yards of total offense and 33 touchdowns, setting the school's career marks for total yards (10,372), total touchdowns (117) and passing TDs (82).


A national panel of 153 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries voted on the Walter Payton Award following the regular season. Voters selected a Top 5 on their ballot, according to STATS FCS.

The Payton is named for the legendary College and Pro Football Hall of Fame running back and has been presented since 1987.

What To Read Next
Get Local