SUBSCRIBE NOW AND SAVE 3 months just 99¢/month



Bison, Dragons men finish 1-2 at Dakota Alumni Classic track meet

NDSU's Jacob Rodin set a meet and facility record in the 600 meters to headline the Bison men's performances. Cobbers freshman Tommy Kern broke Concordia's school record in the 400.

Track and field
Forum Communications Co.

FARGO — North Dakota State's men's and women's track and field teams each finished in first place on Friday at the Bison-hosted Dakota Alumni Classic at Shelly Ellig Indoor Track and Field Facility.

NDSU scored 170 team points on the men's side and 158.5 on the women's. The Minnesota State Moorhead men were second with 83 points and fourth on the women's side with 31.5.

The Bison had a slew of top finishers in both the men's and women's competition.

NDSU junior Jacob Rodin set a meet and facility record in the 600 meters to headline the Bison men's performance. Rodin ran the event in a time of 1 minute, 18.18 seconds, the second-fastest time in school history, trailing only his own record of 1:18.03 from last season. Teammate Josh Knutson followed with a second-place time of 1:19.69.

Olympian and former NCAA champion Payton Otterdahl made his return to Fargo and won the weight throw with a mark of 71 feet, 10 inches. NDSU senior Trevor Otterdahl was the top collegian, throwing 68-7 1/4.


Bison junior Eric VanErp won the pentathlon with a personal-best score of 3,567 points. Kristoffer Thomsen claimed first in the shot put with a heave of 63-5. Freshman Brock Johnsen won the 60 hurdles with a time of 8.12 seconds.

Koate Deebom won the triple jump with a personal-best leap of 46-7 1/4 and Jens Christensen cleared 15-7 to win the pole vault.

On the women's side, NDSU's Nell Graham won the pentathlon with a score of 3,277 in her multi-events debut. NDSU alum and now professional thrower Maddy Nilles took the weight throw crown with a meet record 72-10 1/2. Current Bison all-American Amy Herrington was the top collegian with a throw of 67-1 1/4.

Freshman Christiana Collins won the 200 with a run of 25.13 and second-year freshman Salmata Korgho took first in the 60 hurdles with a mark of 8.76. Freshman Claire Howell from Moorhead won her first career race as a Bison, claiming the 400 title with a run of 58.14. Redshirt freshman Kaci Cooper finished first in the 600 in 1:37.61.

Junior Alissa Melvin won the triple jump with a leap of 38-5 1/2, her top mark at NDSU. Sophomore Lexi Jordheim won the pole vault, clearing 11-4 1/4.

Dragons record 3 NCAA qualifying marks

The MSUM teams posted three NCAA-qualifying finishes on the day.

Sophomore Travis Joseph won the high jump with a qualifying leap of 6 feet, 11.5 inches. Junior Chris Cook also had a qualifying jump — placing third with a mark of 6-8 1/4. Joining them was junior Shyrone Kemp, who won the high jump at 24-1, good for an NCAA-qualifying mark.

Dragons junior Ty Dawkins claimed the top spot in the 60 meters with a time of 6.02 seconds. Kemp ran a personal-best 6.97 to finish third.


On the women's side, senior Rachel Schumacher was second in the high jump with a mark of 5-4 1/2. Freshman Paige Ziegler placed second in the 60 hurdles with a personal-best time of 9.18.

Senior Tessa Schroeder finished sixth in the pentathlon, scoring 2,901.

Concordia's Kern has record day

Cobbers freshman Tommy Kern broke Concordia's school record in the 400.

Kern clocked a time of 49.30 at the Dakota Classic to break the old record of 49.56 set in 2017 by David Supinski.

The Cobbers men placed fourth with a team score of 43 and the women were fifth with 16 points.

What to read next
Both get five-year deals, putting to rest questions about their immediate future with Bison
The Fargo native has hopped onto the radar of NHL scouts ahead of his arrival in college
After COVID testing Monday, Minnesota below NCAA minimum of seven available scholarship players
FARGO — North Dakota State's men's basketball game with the University of St. Thomas will be played Tuesday, Jan. 25 and a previously rescheduled game with South Dakota will now be played Monday, Feb. 7.